Deceived: A True Story

Deceived: A True Story

by Sarah Smith, Kate Snell


$10.06 $14.95 Save 33% Current price is $10.06, Original price is $14.95. You Save 33%. View All Available Formats & Editions


This powerful memoir introduces student Sarah Smith, whose peaceful existence was shattered one day in 1993 when an IRA bomb exploded near her college. In the aftermath of this terrorist attack, Robert Freegard, a barman she had recently befriended, revealed his true identity to Sarah and two of her friends—he was an MI5 spy investigating IRA cells in the area. Because of their knowledge of his true identity, Freegard convinced the three of them that they must go into hiding or risk being killed. Thus began a nightmare for Sarah, becoming a half-starved fugitive living in slums. During this time she lived under multiple pseudonyms and worked menial jobs. Freegard became the only person she trusted. But a decade later, police confronted her with the knowledge that Freegard was not an MI5 agent. He was a con man, and she was one of his many victims. By brainwashing Sarah with such sophisticated techniques that psychologists are still baffled, he had stolen ten precious years and more than $600,000 from her. This is Sarah Stephens' shocking true story, and a profile of a modern-day criminal genius and master manipulator.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780752893266
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group, Limited
Publication date: 04/28/2008
Pages: 336
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 7.50(h) x 0.86(d)

About the Author

Sarah Smith has been reunited with her family and continues to rebuild her life. Kate Snell is a writer, filmmaker, and author of Princess Diana: Her Last Love. 

Table of Contents

Prologue     3
Entrapment     5
Happy Days at Blue Door     7
Recruiting John     18
Entrapping Sarah     28
On the Run     34
Cat and Mouse     41
Family Farewells     43
Safe Houses     49
On the Trail     53
Brainwashing     65
Wage Slaves     67
Closing In     83
Phoning Home     91
New Recruit     96
Spreading Confusion     100
Spy on a Mission     108
Accessing the Joint Account     113
Showdown at the Pomona     120
The Last Friend     126
Birth of a Conman     131
Mummy's Boy     133
Stealing a Fortune     145
Targeting the Atkinsons     147
Cottage Life     154
The Prodigal Son     159
Rays of Hope     169
The Inheritance     177
To the Very Last Drop     184
The Net Widens     191
The Night Porter and the Car Salesman     193
End of a Brief Idyll     200
Suspicious Behaviour     207
A Crucial Transaction     217
Living Rough     225
The Cottage Prison     233
Losing It     243
Lighthouse Spies     252
A Confirmed Sighting at Last     258
Race Against Time     265
Trains and Buses and Planes     267
The Photograph     272
French Holiday     276
The Sting     279
Seeking Sarah     285
The Pick-Up     291
Opening Up     296
Legal History     299
Building a Case     301
The Verdict     306
Picking Up the Pieces     309
New Horizons     311

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews