Pub. Date:
Deep Purple in Rock [Bonus Tracks]

Deep Purple in Rock [Bonus Tracks]

by Deep PurpleDeep Purple

CD(Bonus Tracks / Dutch Import)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, October 25


After satisfying all of their classical music kinks with keyboard player Jon Lord's overblown Concerto for Group and Orchestra, Deep Purple's soon-to-be classic Mark II lineup made their proper debut on 1970s awesome Deep Purple in Rock. The cacophony of sound (led by Ritchie Blackmore's blistering guitar solo), which introduces the opener "Speed King," makes it immediately obvious that the band is no longer fooling around. The slightly less intense "Bloodsucker" allows for some breathing room before the band embarks on the album's epic, ten-minute tour de force "Child in Time." In what is arguably his greatest performance, singer Ian Gillan leads the band on a series of crescendos, from the song's gentle beginning through to its ear-shattering climax, and back again to an even more intense encore. With searing power chords, "Flight of the Rat" is another example of the band's new hard-rock stance; though at nearly eight minutes, it too finds room for some extended soloing from Blackmore and Lord. "Into the Fire" and "Living Wreck" are more concise but equally appealing, and despite the closer "Hard Lovin' Man," which waffles on a bit before descending into feedback, this is still an essential album. [This version of the album includes bonus material.]

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/30/1998
Label: Emi Europe Generic
UPC: 0724383401925
catalogNumber: 834019
Rank: 20715


  1. Speed King
  2. Bloodsucker
  3. Child in Time
  4. Flight of the Rat
  5. Into the Fire
  6. Living Wreck
  7. Hard Lovin' Man
  8. Black Night
  9. Studio Chat
  10. Speed King
  11. Studio Chat
  12. Cry Free
  13. Studio Chat
  14. Jam Stew
  15. Studio Chat
  16. Flight of the Rat
  17. Studio Chat
  18. Speed King
  19. Studio Chat
  20. Black Night

Album Credits

Customer Reviews