Deep Sea Ball: The Best of Clyde McPhatter

Deep Sea Ball: The Best of Clyde McPhatter

by Clyde McPhatter


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Deep Sea Ball: The Best of Clyde McPhatter

This is about as perfect a summary of Clyde McPhatter's solo years with Atlantic as there is to buy, in the absence of a box of his complete output for the label or a Sequel Records reissue of his Atlantic LPs. Those who are most familiar with McPhatter's singing from his days with the Drifters will be pleased by all 19 songs here, which represent a more mature voice and embody musical ambitions that carried McPhatter toward the same kind of expansive, pop-oriented R&B that Sam Cooke also started working toward (and would hit bigger with) a couple of years later. He could still rock out, as on the title track, but he also had a sense of the dramatic in his singing and used it to powerful effect on songs like "Without Love." "Treasure of Love" and "A Lover's Question" may be McPhatter's best remembered solo hits, but even the non-chart sides here, like "I Can't Stand Up Alone" (which harks back to McPhatter's roots as a gospel singer) and the big-band R&B of "I'm Lonely Tonight," are gorgeous pieces of music that demand to be heard. The only drawback is that the material isn't in chronological order, which wouldn't be a problem at all if the recording dates had been listed next to the tracks in the notes. But it sounds fine and the music is so compelling that it holds up regardless of the programming decisions.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/01/1991
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678231445
catalogNumber: 82314

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Clyde McPhatter   Primary Artist,Vocals
Neil Sedaka   Guitar
George Barnes   Guitar
King Curtis   Tenor Saxophone
Budd Johnson   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Sal Salvador   Guitar
Seldon Powell   Saxophone
Frank Rehak   Trombone
Caiola   Guitar
Mickey Baker   Guitar
Sam "The Man" Taylor   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Kenny Burrell   Guitar
Bert Collins   Trumpet
Belton Evans   Drums
Sticks Evans   Drums
Panama Francis   Drums
John Frosk   Trumpet
Milt Hinton   Bass
Bert Keyes   Piano
Phil Kraus   Percussion,Marimbas
Steve Lipkins   Trumpet
Carl Lynch   Guitar
Romeo Penque   Alto Saxophone
Richard Perry   Trumpet
Cliff Smalls   Piano
Mike Stoller   Piano
Bill Suyker   Guitar
Lloyd Trotman   Bass
Doles Dickens   Bass
Daniel Perry   Guitar

Technical Credits

Ahmet Ertegun   Producer
Howard Greenfield   Composer
Jimmy Williams   Composer
Cynthia Crane   Composer
Franklin Tableporter   Composer
Joel Corn   Composer
Joyce Heath Gagliano   Composer
Herbert Weiner   Composer
Ken Wood   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews