The Deepest Waters: A Novel

The Deepest Waters: A Novel

by Dan Walsh
4.8 36

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99 $8.99 Save 11% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $8.99. You Save 11%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Deepest Waters 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
TrishPerryNovelist More than 1 year ago
This lovely novel is inspired by a true event, the sinking of the SS Central America off the North Carolina coast in 1857. The historical facts are heartbreaking, and author Dan Walsh doesn't shy away from the sadness, hardship, and loss of life. But he also writes about the hope and miraculous rescues involved in such a way that the reader is captivated and emotionally invested in the story's outcome. We experience the parallel journeys of John and Laura Foster, the newlyweds who are separated when the women and children are the only ones rescued before the ship sinks. We watch the best and worst in people emerge when valor is tested. And we experience what can only be the loving hand of God in bringing about circumstances that are all the more fascinating for having actually happened in real life. Recommended.
Janna6 More than 1 year ago
Historical fiction inspired by a true story, Dan Walsh knew a good story when he heard about this particular bit of history and he was right. But for him to take that and turn it into an absolutely amazing tale that kept me glued to the book - fantastic! I totally loved this book. Probably my favorite of the year as of right now. Fans of Nicholas Sparks and Karen Kingsbury will love this book - Dan builds rich characters and strong plot lines as he takes us on a ill fated voyage with John and Laura on their honeymoon. I can't even attempt to go into details because I don't want to give anything away. All I know is that I actually recommended this book to my sister-in-law for her book club, it would be perfect. And definitely a must read of 2011 for any reader!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my second Dan Walsh book; but it WILL NOT be my last!!!!!! MCELWOLF
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dan Walsh is an author with real pizazz! The story was an easy read and was fascinating. There were no "dead spots" and the book held my interest all the way through!
CherishD More than 1 year ago
Every page was so full of life...there was never a low or slow point in the writing.  Grew to love the characters, and the story grabbed me and pulled me in so far I felt like I was there! I was moved to tears so many times...Deepest Waters is one I will save and read again. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. The only problem I bhad, the ending could hsve berm expanded on. I felt it ended to quickly
ChristysBookBlog More than 1 year ago
The Deepest Waters by Dan Walsh is a surprising story of love that cannot be destroyed by distance or death. John and Laura Foster embarked on their honeymoon on the SS Vandervere with all the hopes and dreams any newly married couple shares, but their trip became a nightmare when the ship was caught in a storm and began to sink. The women aboard were ferried to another ship, but the men were left behind to go down with the ship and pray for a miracle. The story follows Laura as she travels to meet her in-laws, who are unaware of her existence, believing that the love of her life is dead, and John in his fight to stay alive and return to his soulmate. Aboard the rescue ship, Laura meets the slave Micah and they quickly bond over their shared faith. Walsh truly brings to life the terrors of surviving day after day adrift at sea as well as the devastating grief of a love lost before it had a chance to grow. The story is compelling and readers who qualm at the coincidences therein should know that much of it is based on a true story. Walsh excels at telling stories about people of faith and how it affects the world around them.
DLiesner More than 1 year ago
The best kind of story to me is a true story or a story that answers the "what might I have done in that situation" questions that arise with elemental historical fact. This is one of those best kinds of stories. Yes there is a bit of romance, not overdone or unrealistic - even the romance in the story is more about real love than emotional romantic feelings. It's more about real life. So often slaves are projected as less than human or people consumed with vengeance. This story also opened the doors of realism and understanding of a portion of what some people of color endured through no fault of their own. I would find it hard to believe that anyone reading this story would not emerge with inspiration to be a better person in some way. The characters were real, humanly flawed, and except for the villain, moral. A wonderful resource for homeschoolers to stir imagination of other historical events and get them thinking what if that were you - what might you have done - do you think you would have been that brave, that faithful, that connected to God to follow such unusual leading. The review copy was sent from the publisher. I'm pleased to have the opportunity to add my honest remarks about a fine writer who brought this historical event to life (and kept me awake most of the night to finish a well-written story.)
AAR More than 1 year ago
THE DEEPEST WATERS by Dan Walsh is an exciting historical romance set in 1857 aboard the steamship SS Vandervere off the coast of the Atlantic. It has in intriguing plot: survival at sea,a sea rescue.lost loves,faith,love.and coming to terms with the possibility you may have lost your one true love.This story is told from both the hero and the heroine.As they both try to survive not only the harsh sea,both the loneliness,while separated by the rescue of the women and children of the SS Vandervere another ship.The are men left behind,hoping to be rescued by another ship or make it to shore.This is an intense story at moments.The characters will capture your heart.The hero,John,is determined to survive,faces the unknown with an open heart,faith in his God and has saved several of the men from drowning.He is a very unselfish person.The heroine,Laura,facing the unknown possible alone,carries on,helps the other women on board the new ship,befriends a slave and his dog.It is about miracles not only on sea but also on land. It is a spiritual and inspirational message that show that God is still in charge of our lives.This story is based on some actual facts such as the sinking of a paddle-wheel steamship off the coast of North Carolina,the rescue of the women and children by an old sailing ship,the rescue ship running out of food,the captain of a second giving the rescue enough food for them to get to New York, and last but not least the most amazing of all was a bird flying out of know where,hitting the head of the captain causing him to change course,finding and rescuing fifty-three men adrift at sea for days.This is a must read not only for any and all Christians but for any and all historical romance readers.It is fast paced and a page turner.I actually read it in a few hours. I have read all his books and each and everyone are great from the first page to the last page.This book was received for review from the publisher and details can be found at Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group and My Book Addiction and More.
kittycrochettwo More than 1 year ago
A story that takes place in Sept. 1857. Newlyweds John and Laura Foster are enjoying their honeymoon on the steamship SS Vandervere never realizing what is about to take place. When a hurricane strikes the ship starts to sink!Laura is rescued along with the other women and children on the vessel but the men are left on the sinking ship. Laura fears that John may be gone forever, but her heart holds out hope that somehow he will survive, and they might find there way back together. I must admit, I usually try to steer clear of stories that take place on ships, but when I learned that this story was inspired by real events, my love of historical fiction based on true stories outweighed the fact that there was a sinking ship, and i am so glad that it did. The story that unfolds inside the book easily held my attention. John and Laura are just embarking on their new life together, and then to be separated when the ship goes down one is rescued and one is not, was so sad, but the miracles that take place really uplift the heart and spirit. John was a really portrayed a true christian character because of his selfless way in helping others. Because the author allows John and Laura to reflect on their courtship, it allowed the reader to understand their connection. There are plenty of secondary characters that add to the story as well, and the dog Crabby was quiet enjoyable. I enjoyed the note that the author included at the end of the story,which reveals which parts of the story actually happened. Dan Walsh is a new to me author, whose writing style really pulled me in.He weaves a tender story of hope, faith, love and miracles, with a few surprises thrown in, that had me anxious to find out the ending! I was provided a complimentary copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great story. It was very interesting and it is based on a true story. I would reccomend ~ Cherdarlin
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While reading this book, I was continually amazed at how extraordinary the characters were. It was a page turner for me and a delight to read. I somehow had no idea that I was reading historical fiction until I turned the last page. That made me want to re-read the book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the characters and the story of this book.
DaleDL More than 1 year ago
very good historical novel...I'll watch for more of Dan Walsh's books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Waits for ren
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There was such a mix of characters, and I felt like I knew them. There was a good bit of suspense, and that kept me in this book, start to finish, in one sitting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terrific story of faith hope and love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kherbrand More than 1 year ago
If you like a good love story, then you must read this book. I can't tell you how many times I cried throughout this story. It progresses as it rotates between Laura, John, and John's family in New York. But it isn't just a love story. Through Micah and his dog Crabby we learn to have joy in the present and not worry about things that haven't happened yet. Through Laura we learn about faith and strength to face the unknown. Through John we learn about hope and the strength of love and through his family we learn about forgiveness and acceptance. There is a strong thread running throughout the book about God and things happening according to His time and His plan. This is my first book by Dan Walsh. He also wrote The Unfinished Gift and The Homecoming. He is definitely going on my list of authors to watch for!