Delicious Metropolis: The Desserts and Urban Scenes of Wayne Thiebaud

Delicious Metropolis: The Desserts and Urban Scenes of Wayne Thiebaud

by Wayne Thiebaud

Hardcover

$27.00 $30.00 Save 10% Current price is $27, Original price is $30. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 26

Overview

Delicious Metropolis brings together two of Wayne Thiebaud's most celebrated bodies of work: desserts and cityscapes. Between the two, fascinating juxtapositions develop. The layers of a Neapolitan cake echo the shadows cast across a street in the late afternoon. The pastel hues of iced sponge cakes match California's candy-colored houses. Curators, critics, and artists guide the reader through the book via insightful bite-size essays. This gorgeous hardcover offers fans and newcomers a refreshing and accessible way to enjoy the oeuvre of this iconic American painter.

• Photos of art along with short essays by curators, critics, and artists
• Cross multicolored page edges evoke the layers of Thiebaud's mouthwatering cakes

Fans of Wayne Thiebaud Draftsman, Counting with Wayne Thiebaud, and Richard Diebenkorn: A Retrospective will love this book.

This book is perfect for:
• Fine art buffs
• Fans of Wayne Thiebaud
• Foodies and bakers
• Fans of California and city life

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781452169934
Publisher: Chronicle Books LLC
Publication date: 04/30/2019
Pages: 144
Sales rank: 186,504
Product dimensions: 8.90(w) x 9.50(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Wayne Thiebaud is a world-renowned painter, recipient of the National Medal of Arts, and member of the California Hall of Fame. He lives in Sacramento.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews