Democracy Begins Between Two / Edition 1

Democracy Begins Between Two / Edition 1

by Luce Irigaray
Pub. Date:
Taylor & Francis


View All Available Formats & Editions
Current price is , Original price is $41.95. You
Select a Purchase Option (New Edition)
  • purchase options
  • purchase options
    $29.51 $41.95 Save 30% Current price is $29.51, Original price is $41.95. You Save 30%.
    Note: Access code and/or supplemental material are not guaranteed to be included with textbook rental or used textbook.


Democracy Begins Between Two / Edition 1

In Democracy Begins Between Two, Luce Irigaray calls for a form of specific civil rights guaranteeing women a separate civil identity of their own equivalent to-though not simply the same as-that enjoyed by men.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 2900415918175
Publisher: Taylor & Francis
Publication date: 01/28/2001
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 236
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 1.25(h) x 9.00(d)

About the Author

Luce Irigaray is a leading philosopher and feminist thinker, best known for Speculum of the Other Woman (1990) and This Sex Which Is Not One (1990). She is author of I Love to You (1994), To Be Two (2000), Elemental Passions (1992) and Je, Tu, Nous (1992), all published by Routledge.

Table of Contents

Translator's Note;

List of Acronyms;


I Want Love, Not War; Feminine Identity: Biology or Social Conditioning?;

Women's Enslavement;

How to Manage the Transition from Natural to Civil Coexistence;

Towards a Citizenship of the European Union;

Refounding the Family on a Civil Basis;

Democracy is Love;

The Question of the Other;

A Two-Subject Culture;

Ten Suggestions for the Construction of the European Union;

Politics and Happiness;

The Representation of Women;

Europe Captivated by New Myths;



Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews