Demon Box [Deluxe Edition]

Demon Box [Deluxe Edition]

by MotorpsychoMotorpsycho


$38.94 $40.99 Save 5% Current price is $38.94, Original price is $40.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Whether you ask bandmembers or longtime fans for the decisive moment when Motorpsycho became, for lack of a better word, themselves, almost all will point to Demon Box. It was the band's third and last album for Voices of Wonder Records. Their previous two, 1991's Lobotomizer and 1992's Soothe, showcased elements of the persona that gels here, but not the totality. Demon Box moves far beyond the hard psych, grungy guitar, and indie tendencies of those albums toward more formal song and compositional structures, as well as the far-flung experimentalist and improvisational frontiers that made them legends. This marks the album where Helge Sten (aka DeathProd) was an actual full-time member, adding his strategized electronic mayhem to their mix. It not only thwarted fan expectations at the time, but subverted them as the band reinvented itself in its own image. It was originally recorded as a double LP and issued in an edition of 500. The label insisted the band trim the record to fit on a single compact disc (which only held 40 minutes of music in the format's early days). They capitulated by cutting three tracks -- "Gutwrench," "Mountain," and "Mr. Who." Even trimmed, Demon Box, with its jarring mélange of rock and pop songs and jam styles (which seemingly pushed in all directions at once), noisy ambiences, and riffs, became the template on which almost every album that followed would be based.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/10/2015
Label: Rune Grammofon
UPC: 7033662001125
catalogNumber: 112
Rank: 94971

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Motorpsycho   Primary Artist
Phil "Philthy Animal" Taylor   Drums
Deathprod   Organ,Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Conga,Vocals,Moog Synthesizer,Noise,Sampling,bass pedals,Synthesizer Bass,Octophone,Moog Lead,Box,Echoplex
Bent Saether   Bass,Guitar,Conga,Vocals,Moog Synthesizer,Sampling,Octophone,Echoplex
Lars Lien   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Vocals,Background Vocals,Mellotron,Wurlitzer,Sounds
Matt Burt   Narrator,Rhymes
Vegar Moen   Coral Sitar
Dolly D.   Vocals
Lars Klokkerhaug   Piano
Gebhardt   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Percussion,Conga,Drums,Vocals,Moog Synthesizer,Sampling,ARP,Octophone,Echoplex
Olga O   Vocals
Winifried Ryan   Piano,Violin
Linda L.   Vocals
Larry "Lux" Llydwlin   Vocals
HMR   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Fiddle,Mandolin,Violin,Electric Guitar,Hammond Organ,Recorder,Vocals,bass pedals,screams,Coral Sitar,Foot Stomping
Fast Snahddie   Bass,Guitar,Conga,Vocals,Moog Synthesizer,Sampling,Octophone,Echoplex
Burt Sæther   Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Percussion,Piano,Cymbals,Drums,Glockenspiel,Vocals,bass pedals,Synthesizer Bass,Fills,Coral Sitar,Toy Piano,Echoplex
Arvid Ryan   Piano,Violin

Technical Credits

Marty Balin   Composer
Peter Criss   Composer
Jerry Garcia   Composer
Bob Weir   Composer
Robert Hunter   Composer
Paul Kantner   Composer
"Fast" Eddie Clarke   Composer
Bob Ezrin   Composer
Moondog   Composer
Phil Lesh   Composer
Tony McPhee   Composer
Craig Morris   Engineer
Motorpsycho   Producer
Deathprod   Producer,Contributor,Audio Generator
Kim Hiorthøy   Drawing
Bent Saether   Contributor
Lars Lien   Composer,Engineer
Hans Magnus "Snah" Ryan   Composer
Lemmy Kilmister   Composer
Helge Sten   Composer,Engineer,Contributor
Matt Burt   Composer
Stan Penridge   Composer
Tommy Olsson   Liner Notes,Essay
Lars Klokkerhaug   Live Sound Engineer
Gebhardt   Composer,Contributor
Bob LeBad   Liner Notes,Essay
Carsten Aniksdal   Engineer,Authoring
Larry "Lux" Llydwlin   Composer
Fast Snahddie   Contributor
Burt Sæther   Composer,Reissue Producer

Customer Reviews