Denial: Abuse, Addiction, and a Life Derailed -

Denial: Abuse, Addiction, and a Life Derailed - "Based on a True Story"

by Nanette Kirsch


Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details


Denial: Abuse, Addiction, and a Life Derailed - "Based on a True Story" by Nanette Kirsch

Based on a true story of 1 of the 1,000+ victims of the unprecedented Pennsylvania sexual abuse exposed in the recent Grand Jury Report, which exposes systemic abuse over more than two decades across six of the state’s Roman Catholic dioceses. This award-winning book explores the devastating effects of abuse in one man’s life in an effort to help readers begin to count the cost to the victims as well as generations of loved ones impacted by this scandal.

Denial received an endorsement from Jay Exum, a former Assistant United States Attorney with the U.S. Department of Justice, who prosecuted child sex abuses cases for more than a decade: "Denial is the story of how sexual abuse plays out over the course of a life. It does so honestly, without either soft-selling things that are dark and difficult or exploiting extremely emotional content for cheap sympathy.”

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781632694416
Publisher: Deep River Books Llc
Publication date: 06/29/2017
Pages: 270
Sales rank: 559,929
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x (d)

About the Author

Growing up Nanette Kirsch was the kid unafraid to shout, “The Emperor has no clothes!” As she matured she learned the valuable lesson that “grace and truth come through Jesus Christ” ...always together. (John 1:17) Her passion for living out Ernest Hemingway’s directive to “write the truest sentence you know” led her to major in journalism at Duquesne University in Pittsburgh, Pa., and to pursue a career in communication. Today she serves as an outsourced marketing executive, helping companies discover and express the essence of their brand identities. In her blog, “Faith Runner: Journeying to the heart of what is true,” Nanette shares life lessons she’s learned walking with God as a wife, mother of four children, working woman and Christian witness.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments 7

Preface 11

A Reading from the Book of Isaiah 19

Part 1 The Wounding 23

Chapter 1 Altar Boy 25

Chapter 2 Chosen One 37

Chapter 3 Student Leader 55

Part 2 Denial 87

Chapter 4 Pharmacist 89

Chapter 5 Millionaire Entrepreneur 109

Chapter 6 Mr. Nice Guy 173

Chapter 7 Stoic Husband 193

Chapter 8 King of the Selfie 239

Afterword 255

Resources 263

Connect with the Author 265

End Notes 267

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews