Pub. Date:
Desolation Angels

Desolation Angels

by Bad CompanyBad Company

CD(Anniversary Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, October 22


By the time Bad Company released Desolation Angels, it was evident that even Rodgers and Ralphs were getting tired of their '70s-styled, conveyor-belt brand of rock & roll, so they decided to add keyboards and some minor string work to the bulk of the tracks. Although this change of musical scenery was a slight breath of fresh air, it wasn't enough to give Desolation Angels the much added depth or distinction that was intended, and only the vocal passion of "Rock 'n' Roll Fantasy" really comes out on top, eventually becoming a gold single. The good news is that Desolation Angels is a noticeable improvement from 1977's Burnin' Sky, with Bad Company's sound taking on a smoother, more polished feel than its predecessor. "Gone, Gone, Gone," "Lonely for Your Love," and "She Brings Me Love" work best in Rodgers' favor, and fans did prove their loyalty, pushing the album to the number ten mark in the U.K. and to number three in the U.S. The campaign toward a new sound does cause a few of the cuts ("Crazy Circles," "Evil Wind") to appear a bit forced and overly glitzy (especially the use of electronic drums), and the album spawns a smattering of a few attractive moments rather than evolving as a complete, constructive listen. Things didn't get much better for Bad Company, and it was after the release of 1982's Rough Diamonds, a much weaker and unattached effort, that Rodgers decided to call it quits.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/10/2020
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0603497849345
catalogNumber: 607224
Rank: 69546


Disc 1

  1. Rock 'n' Roll Fantasy
  2. Crazy Circles
  3. Gone, Gone, Gone
  4. Evil Wind
  5. Early in the Morning
  6. Lonely for Your Love
  7. Oh, Atlanta
  8. Take the Time
  9. Rhythm Machine
  10. She Brings Me Love
  11. Smokin' 45
  12. Smokin' 45
  13. Rock Fever
  14. Oh, Atlanta
  15. Rock 'n' Roll Fantasy
  16. Rock 'n' Roll Fantasy
  17. Rock 'n' Roll Fantasy
  18. Crazy Circles

Disc 2

  1. Gone, Gone, Gone
  2. Early in the Morning
  3. Lonely for Your Love
  4. Take the Time
  5. Evil Wind
  6. Take the Time
  7. Lonely for Your Love
  8. She Brings Me Love
  9. What Does It Matter
  10. Rhythm Machine
  11. Amen

Album Credits

Customer Reviews