Pub. Date:
Desolation Boulevard [New Extended Version]

Desolation Boulevard [New Extended Version]

by SweetSweet


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, October 25


Sweet hit the peak of their powers on Desolation Boulevard, a wonderfully lightweight collection of fizzy melodies and big, dumb hooks. Essentially, the album consists of three dynamic singles buoyed by a bunch of filler, but those singles -- "Ballroom Blitz," "The 6-Teens," and "Fox on the Run" -- are addictive slices of bubblegum glam rock. And the filler is ridiculously silly and enjoyable, with "Sweet F.A.," "I Wanna Be Committed," and "No You Don't" sounding like a kind of bizarre prototype for the Ramones' punky bubblegum (only without the irony, of course). Although the filler is relatively strong, there are a number of weak patches on Desolation Boulevard, but it remains an intoxicatingly fun record and one that sounds surprisingly fresh, even with all of its kitschy '70s production techniques.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/01/2018
Label: Sony Uk
UPC: 0889853218721
catalogNumber: 3218721
Rank: 7322


  1. The Six Teens
  2. Solid Gold Brass
  3. Turn It Down
  4. Medussa
  5. Lady Starlight
  6. Man With the Golden Arm
  7. Fox on the Run
  8. Breakdown
  9. My Generation
  10. I Wanna Be Commited
  11. Medussa
  12. Burn on the Flame
  13. Turn It Down
  14. Are You Coming to See Me
  15. Fox on the Run
  16. Lady Starlight

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sweet   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews