Desperate and Deceptive: The Guinevere Jones Collection, Volume 1

Desperate and Deceptive: The Guinevere Jones Collection, Volume 1

by Jayne Castle



Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780425271834
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 01/07/2014
Series: Guinevere Jones Series
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 384
Product dimensions: 5.48(w) x 8.18(h) x 0.97(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Jayne Castle is a pseudonym for Jayne Ann Krentz, the author of more than fifty New York Times bestsellers. She writes futuristic romance novels under the Castle name, contemporary romantic suspense novels under the Krentz name, and historical romance novels under the pseudonym Amanda Quick. There are more than 35 million copies of her books in print.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

Praise for Jayne Ann Krentz writing as Jayne Castle

“[A] spectacular read that’ll have you reading nonstop for hours.”—Fresh Fiction

“A devilishly imaginative plot, spiked with plenty of thrilling twists and turns.”—Booklist (starred review)

“Appealing, effervescent romance mildly spiced with paranormal fun.”—Publishers Weekly

"Witty, upbeat action, lively sensuality, and appealing characters."—Library Journal


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Desperate and Deceptive: The Guinevere Jones Collection Volume 1 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Justpeachy1 More than 1 year ago
Desperate and Deceptive is a two-book collection of the first two Jayne Castle novels featuring heroine Guinevere Jones originally released in 1986. Jayne Castle is a pseudonym of bestselling author Jayne Ann Krentz. This collection includes both 'The Desperate Game' and 'The Chilling Deception' and will be followed later this year with a second volume that will include the last two books in the series. Readers who enjoy romantic suspense with an edge, will be thrilled with this re-release of some of Krentz's earlier works. What I liked:  This is some of JAK's early writing and before now it has been relatively hard to get a hold of. I liked the fact that Berkley Trade decided to re-release these stories in a collection. Both books were short enough to be done in this way and not provide a long and meandering book when put together. I liked having them both at my fingertips, so as soon as I finished one I could start the second one. Those of us who love a good series enjoy that.  When JAK first started writing she wrote a lot of male characters that were most definitely alpha. But they also tended to be a little too dominant for my tastes. It was nice to see that Zac in this series is not so abrasive and hard to like, as some of those JAK was writing at the same time. Zac being the security game has to have a tough persona but it doesn't get out of hand and he turns out to be a pretty good leading man.  Guinevere is a true original. She is a plucky small business owner who knows exactly what she wants, but can't seem to stay out of the trouble in the process. Mixing her with Zac, just seems to add to her troubles instead of making them better. In first book in this collection, The Desperate Game. she and Zac team up for the first time and the rest is history. They both find that they are really suited to working together and playing off each others strengths. JAK did a great job with Gwen and readers who have read these stories long ago will want to read them again, and Gwen will find a whole new audience as well.  The Desperate Game deals mostly with the set up of the partnership of Zac and Guinevere and the computer related case that Zac is working on. The fact that he blackmails Gwen into helping him is classic and a lot of fun. The case was interesting and provided a great backdrop to the relationship that was developing between the characters. The Chilling Deception in my opinion was the better of the two stories. Readers already had the background on who these characters were, what kind of motivations they had etc. In this story they focus more on the cases at hand and how to solve them. I liked the way that JAK let the story unfold with a steady pace but not overwhelming one. The fact that one of the characters was supposed to have been dead added another dimension to the story. I enjoyed this one a lot.  It was obvious that these were early books and that over the years she has really honed her craft and become a great writer. That is not to say that either of these stories are not well written. They both are, it's just that JAK has gotten better and better. Any fan of a good writer likes to read every thing they have written and it's nice to have these back in print again for that reason. What I didn't like:  I really can't pinpoint anything that I didn't like in either of these stories. It is just hard to give them a 5 apple rating when I know the author has written some other highly exceptional works.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In_My_Humble_OpinionDA More than 1 year ago
It is nice to go back every once and a while and read a favorite authors earlier stuff.  With that in mind I jumped at the opportunity to pick up the Guinevere Jones books by Jayne Ann Krentz aka Jayne Castle.  These stories have Ms. Krentz’s trademark chemistry, action, adventure and mystery.  They show a little age but the stories still hold up.