Destined for Greatness and Other Stories

Destined for Greatness and Other Stories

by L.M. Gil

NOOK Book(eBook)

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Destined for Greatness and Other Stories by L.M. Gil

“You people have a thing for secrecy. Like you don’t want to talk about anything, you know, real. Like you’re afraid of your own shadow. Most of you are running from something, and you’ve turned love into a villain, into lust in your mind. And when you turn a friend like love into an enemy, you become confused. [Now the] ... conflict’s come to the surface. That inner struggle, beyond the well-brushed hair and the collar. And that’s tough to witness when you’re used to thinking that what you see on the outside is what’s inside.”
A bartender, one of the characters in Destined for Greatness and Other Stories, shares her observations of the Roman Catholic seminarians that visit her tavern one winter evening. She fills their cups each time they ask, watching them drink to excess and act in ways that are unbecoming of priests-in-training. When one of the men blames her alcohol for the behavior of his fellow seminarians, she tells him the truth he does not want to understand. She explains that the behavior was there all along. “Alcohol,” she says, “only brings reality to the surface.”
In Destined for Greatness and Other Stories, we see this secretive behavior, symptomatic of bigger issues, in the reprisal of characters we met in L.M. Gil’s first novel Fragile Creatures. Even though each story stands on its own (which readers new to L.M. Gil’s writing will appreciate), these stories (ten short stories and one novella) examine questions left answered in the first novel. We find out what happened to Stanley Gonzalez that left him temporarily paralyzed, how Rafael’s and Sister Tere’s relationship transformed itself from a hateful one into one of love, and why Juan Maria had to travel all the way to Spain to find Lorca. In revisiting these moments, all readers see how one person’s choice can profoundly affect others involved and how different one situation can appear, depending on perspective.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940013257764
Publisher: Wooden Camel Media
Publication date: 10/07/2011
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 640 KB

About the Author

L.M. Gil began writing at the age of nine in Upstate New York, where she was born and raised. She wrote stories throughout her youth, often on a manual typewriter. In college, she abandoned creative writing for expository writing and literature, and she earned degrees in these two subjects. Later on, she opted for an advanced degree in TESOL. Working with ESL students off and on for fifteen years eventually reignited her love of creative writing and inspired her to write Fragile Creatures, Destined for Greatness and Other Stories, Evening Prayer and Invertebrates.

L.M. Gil uses a cast of characters who represent people she has known throughout her life. They have been her family members, friends, acquaintances, former co-workers and students. They have also been the addicts, the self-indulgent, the cross-dressers, the overly-religious, the deluded, the misinformed, the risk-takers and the hesitant in her life. Those with bizarre appearances, oddball behavior or ironic twists to their stories interest her in particular. These qualities only hint at inner turmoil or conflicts that L.M. Gil employs to get her point across. Whether quirky or fearful or willful or just plain obnoxious, L.M. Gil's characters illustrate human frailty in their actions and choices. But it's that same humanity that can also prove to be its own saving grace.

Currently L.M. Gil has her first novel, Fragile Creatures, and second novel, Evening Prayer, available on the Kindle and Nook. Her newest novel, Invertebrates will be available in Summer 2012.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews