Devil's Gate: Owning the Land, Owning the Story

Devil's Gate: Owning the Land, Owning the Story

by Tom Rea
Pub. Date:
University of Oklahoma Press
Select a Purchase Option (New Edition)
  • purchase options

Temporarily Out of Stock Online


Devil's Gate: Owning the Land, Owning the Story

Devil’s Gate—the name conjures difficult passage and portends a doubtful outcome. In this eloquent and captivating narrative, Tom Rea traces the history of the Sweetwater River valley in central Wyoming—a remote place including Devil’s Gate, Independence Rock, and other sites along a stretch of the Oregon Trail—to show how ownership of a place can translate into owning its story.

Seemingly in the middle of nowhere, Devil’s Gate is the center of a landscape that threatens to shrink any inhabitants to insignificance except for one thing: ownership of the land and the stories they choose to tell about it. The static serenity of the once heavily traveled region masks a history of conflict.

Tom Sun, an early rancher, played a role here in the lynching of the only woman ever hanged in Wyoming. The lynching was dismissed as swift frontier justice in the wake of cattle theft, but Rea finds more complicated motives that involve land and water rights. The Sun name was linked with the land for generations. In the 1990s, the Mormon Church purchased part of the Sun ranch to memorialize Martin’s Cove as the site of handcart pioneers who froze to death in the valley in 1856.

The treeless, arid country around Devil’s Gate seems too immense for ownership. But stories run with the land. People who own the land can own the stories, at least for a time.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780806137926
Publisher: University of Oklahoma Press
Publication date: 11/13/2006
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 288
Product dimensions: 6.28(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.06(d)

Table of Contents


List of Illustrations,
Introduction. The Middle of Nowhere,
Chapter 1. Pelicans on the Sweetwater,
Chapter 2. Tenantless and Forlorn,
Chapter 3. The Pathfinder's Lost Instruments,
Chapter 4. A Road to Somewhere Else,
Chapter 5. Burning Bridges,
Chapter 6. Brigham's Curse,
Chapter 7. War,
Chapter 8. Hayden's Gaze,
Chapter 9. Grazing in Paradise,
Chapter 10. Township and Range,
Chapter 11. Neighbors,
Chapter 12. The Magic Touch of Water,
Chapter 13. Story Spots,
Chapter 14. Perfect Balance,
Epilogue. A Drying Wind,

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews