Devil's Jump: Indie Label Blues 1946-1957

Devil's Jump: Indie Label Blues 1946-1957


$28.92 $28.99 Save 0% Current price is $28.92, Original price is $28.99. You Save 0%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, August 3


JSP's Devil's Jump compiles four CDs with 100 tracks containing a mixture of both rare and classic blues recorded between 1946-1957, on several indie blues labels of the era such as King, Deluxe, Okeh, and Jubilee. Highlighted throughout this set are 20 previously unissued recordings by Jimmie Gordon, Johnny Temple, Smokey Hogg, John Lee Hooker, Kid Thomas, Lee Brown, and Eddie Kirkland. These historic recordings have been remastered, and the majority of this material sounds decent as most JSP sets do. The liner notes are informative, listing personnel, dates, and concise history without going on ad nauseum. Since this is a budget-priced set, it is highly recommended for both the blues novice and collector.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/26/2013
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065716424
catalogNumber: 77164
Rank: 100332


Disc 1

  1. Horse Shooe Boogie
  2. Ruby Moore Blues
  3. Little Mary
  4. Cheatin' Around
  5. Rock That Boogie
  6. Fast Life
  7. Hastings Street Opera, Pt. 1
  8. Hastings Street Opera, Pt. 2
  9. Stomp Boogie
  10. Who's Been Jiving You
  11. Wig Wearin' Woman
  12. New York Central
  13. Black Man Blues
  14. Poor Joe
  15. Forgive Me Darling
  16. Please Don't Think I'm Nosey
  17. Since I Seen Your Smiling Face
  18. Your Picture Done Faded
  19. Blinds Blues
  20. Slappin' the Boogie
  21. Keep a-Walkin
  22. Keep a-Walkin
  23. Your Little Wagon
  24. Mistreated Woman
  25. Mistreated Woman

Disc 2

  1. Mistreated Blues
  2. I Ain't Like That No More
  3. New Little Girl, Little Girl
  4. Nightmare Blues
  5. Late Last Night
  6. Lend Me Your Love
  7. Pacemaker Boogie
  8. Wandering Blues
  9. Don't Go Baby
  10. Slim's Boogie
  11. A Letter Home
  12. Ain't It Sad
  13. One More Time
  14. Down At the Depot
  15. Alabama Boogie
  16. Penny Pinchin' Mama
  17. Do It No More
  18. Gonna Hop On Down the Line
  19. Do Right
  20. Something's Wrong With My Little Machine
  21. Old Battle Ax
  22. Hello Miss Jessie Lee
  23. Dealing With the Devil
  24. No Shoes
  25. No Shoes

Disc 3

  1. Low Land Blues
  2. Round the World Boogie
  3. My Baby's Acting Funny
  4. It's My Time To Go
  5. Devil's Jump
  6. I'm Gonna Kill That Woman
  7. Stop Messing Around
  8. Pet Milk Blues
  9. Moaning Blues
  10. The Numbers
  11. Root Hog
  12. Gone Gone Gone
  13. Baby' Don't Leave
  14. (Sometimes I Feel Like a) Motherless Child
  15. Life is Like That
  16. Baby Blues
  17. In My Father's House
  18. Mother Dear Mother
  19. Side Walk Boogie
  20. Early In the Morning
  21. Miss Anna B
  22. Door Bell Blues
  23. Why'd You Do It
  24. Boogie Baby
  25. '54 Blues

Disc 4

  1. That Woman's a Pearl Diver
  2. Jumping At the Club Blue Flame
  3. Chain Gang
  4. I Believe I'll Go Downtown Again
  5. Dixie Flyer
  6. Nobody Loves Me
  7. Midnight Jump
  8. Hastings Street Woogie Man
  9. Detroit Boogie
  10. Heart Trouble Blues
  11. Slim's Stomp
  12. Please Don't Think I'm Nosey
  13. Time For Lovin' To Be Done
  14. Up and Down
  15. I Ain't Got Over It Yet
  16. I'll Never Walk In Your Door
  17. Black Cat Trail
  18. I Came To See You Baby
  19. I'm a Boogie Man
  20. My Baby Left Me
  21. I Stayed Down
  22. I Was In St,. Louis
  23. Jivin' Mess
  24. The Spell
  25. The Wolf Pack

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Boogie Woogie Red   Piano
Willie Dixon   Bass
John Lee Hooker   Guitar,Vocals
Eddie Kirkland   Guitar,Vocals
Memphis Slim   Piano,Vocals
Wardell Gray   Tenor Saxophone
Ralph Willis   Guitar,Vocals
Alex Atkins   Alto Saxophone
Lee Brown   Piano,Vocals
Brownie McGhee   Guitar
Ernest Cotton   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Ernest "Big" Crawford   Bass
Leroy Foster   Guitar
Jimmie Gordon   Piano,Vocals
Harold Grant   Guitar
Ralph Hamilton   Bass
Willard McDaniel   Piano
Jesse Sailes   Drums
Chuck Smith   Piano
Little Willie Smith   Drums
Sonny Terry   Harmonica
Baby Boy Warren   Guitar,Vocals
John Lee   Guitar,Vocals
Johnny Temple   Guitar,Vocals
Gary Mapp   Bass
Kid Thomas   Harmonica,Vocals
Washboard Willie   Washboard
Charlie Mills   Piano
Johnny Moore   Guitar
Eddie Williams   Bass
Andrew "Smokey" Hogg   Guitar,Vocals
Detroit Count   Piano,Vocals
Robert Richard   Harmonica,Vocals
Percy Lee Brown   Guitar
Walter Mitchell   Harmonica,Vocals
Edward Hall   Drums
Johnny Wright   Guitar,Vocals
Eddie Burns   Vocals,Harmonia
Ruth Williams   Piano
Robert Henry   Harmonica,Piano,Vocals
Ray Brown   Drums
Ed "Country Paul" Harris   Guitar,Vocals
Charles Jenkins   Bass

Technical Credits

Neil Slaven   Annotation

Customer Reviews