Didn't See That Coming: Putting Life Back Together When Your World Falls Apart

Didn't See That Coming: Putting Life Back Together When Your World Falls Apart

by Rachel Hollis
Didn't See That Coming: Putting Life Back Together When Your World Falls Apart

Didn't See That Coming: Putting Life Back Together When Your World Falls Apart

by Rachel Hollis


$16.99  $20.00 Save 15% Current price is $16.99, Original price is $20. You Save 15%.
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, October 3
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Notes From Your Bookseller

This is a timely book for Rachel Hollis fans and anyone looking for a little bit of help dealing with life's difficult moments. Rachel has certainly been there, and her words strike a chord, especially today.

The New York Times Bestseller

Fear. Grief. Loss. Betrayal. Rachel Hollis has felt all those things, and she knows you have too. Now, she takes you to the other side. 

With her signature humor, heartfelt honesty, and intimate true-life stories, #1 New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hollis shows readers how to seize difficult moments for the learning experiences they are and the value and growth they provide.

Rachel Hollis sees you. As the millions who read her #1 New York Times bestsellers Girl, Wash Your Face and Girl, Stop Apologizing, attend her RISE conferences and follow her on social media know, she also wants to see you transform. 

When it comes to the “hard seasons” of life—the death of a loved one, divorce, loss of a job—transformation seems impossible when grief and uncertainty dominate your days. Especially when, as Didn’t See that Coming reveals, no one asks to have their future completely rearranged for them. But, as Rachel writes, it is up to you how you come through your pain—you can come through changed for the better, having learned and grown, or stuck in place where your identity becomes rooted in what hurt you. 

To Rachel, a life well-lived is one of purpose, focused only on the essentials. This is a small book about big feelings: inspirational, aspirational, and an anchor that shows that darkness can co-exist with the beautiful.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780063010529
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/29/2020
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 57,581
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.50(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Rachel Hollis laid the foundation for her lifestyle brand and media company with the same unfiltered honesty and staunch inclusivity that made her a two-time #1 New York Times bestselling author. Hollis connects with a highly engaged and growing global audience who treasure her transparency and optimism. She is one of the most sought-after motivational speakers, plays host to one of today’s top business podcasts, and is a proud working mama of four who uses her platform to empower and embolden women around the world. Rachel calls Texas home; more specifically, the Hill Country just outside of Austin.

Table of Contents

Prologue 1

I Call Bullshit 7

What to Do Today

1 Identify the New You 29

2 Stop Questioning Your Suffering 47

3 Let Go of Guilt 67

What to Do Tomorrow

4 Try On Another Perspective 81

5 Change Your Mind About Getting Better 95

6 Hack Your Courage 107

7 Show Up 119

8 Get Real About Your Finances 135

What to Do Forever

9 Be Surprised by Resilience 153

10 Cling to Your Good Habits, or Make Some New Ones 167

11 Choose Joy Even When Life Sucks 181

12 Reimagine Your Future 195

Hold on to Hope 209

Acknowledgments 221

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items