Die for the Government

Die for the Government

by Anti-FlagAnti-Flag


$14.72 $14.99 Save 2% Current price is $14.72, Original price is $14.99. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, April 27


Admittedly, it's strange that an old school-sounding punk trio would criticize punk scene denizens thusly: "Covered in leather, or plaid patches, or metal studs/Your hair is dyed or spiked with glue/You only talk to those who look and act the way you do/You scoff at how the cops treat you/But they're no worse than dicks like you!" ("Punk by the Book"). It's even more strange in light of Anti-Flag's Discharge/Rancid haircuts, a dog collar, and even a shirt that says "destroy." But since they point out that what you think is more important than how you dress, fair enough, because they carry on a more crucial custom: warning MTV-polluted, 85-TV-channel youth that punk means doing something productive instead of being passive or getting drunk and into fights, and becoming aware of politics and history is a prerequisite before bitching about the government (such as the Pentagon's attempts to pretend there is no Gulf War syndrome, as Anti-Flag points out). Criticism from within is the only kind that's listened to. As well, on songs such as "Safe Tonight" and "Police State in the U.S.A.," Anti-Flag tosses up the kind of vintage, early-'80s, So-Cal, melodic punk that B.Y.O., Frontier, Posh Boy, and other labels specialized in, and a ska song is welcome.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/13/2012
Label: Cleopatra
UPC: 0741157955422
catalogNumber: 9554
Rank: 41009


  1. You'd Do the Same
  2. You've Got To Die For the Government
  3. Drink Drank Punk
  4. Rotten Future
  5. Safe Tonight
  6. Red White and Brainwashed
  7. Davey Destroyed the Punk Scene
  8. Summer Squatter Go Home
  9. She's My Little Go Go Dancer
  10. Police State In the USA
  11. Punk By the Book
  12. Fuck Police Brutality
  13. I'm Being Watched By the Cia
  14. Kill the Rich
  15. No More Dead
  16. Confused Youth
  17. Your Daddy Was a Rich Man, Your Daddy's Fucking Dead

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Anti-Flag   Primary Artist
Andy Wheeler   Background Vocals
Jason DeCosta   Background Vocals
Andy Flag   Bass,Vocals,Group Member
Ricky "Reagan" Wright   Background Vocals
Anne Flag   Background Vocals
Dan Druff   Background Vocals
Pat Thetic   Drums,Group Member
Justin Sane   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Mike Armstrong   Background Vocals
Jason Angst   Background Vocals
Disco Crisis   Background Vocals
Dan D. Lion   Background Vocals
Sybrina Crisis   Background Vocals
Snotty Queer   Background Vocals
Mike Poisel   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Joe West   Producer,Engineer
Anti-Flag   Producer,Engineer
Keriann "The Sneetch" Martin   Artwork
Alex Submachine   Artwork
Dave Grenier   Liner Notes
Melissa "Da'assest" Jones   Typing

Customer Reviews