Dig Two Graves

Dig Two Graves

by Keith Nixon, Allan Guthrie

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Was it suicide ... or murder? Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray is driven to discover the truth. Whatever the personal cost.

When teenager Nick Buckingham tumbles from the fifth floor of an apartment block, Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray answers the call with a sick feeling in his stomach. The victim was just a kid, sixteen years old. And the exact age the detective's son was, the son Gray has not seen since he went missing at a funfair ten years ago. Each case involving children haunts Gray with the reminder that his son may still be out there – or worse, dead. The seemingly open and shut case of suicide twists into a darker discovery. Buckingham and Gray have never met, so why is Gray's number on the dead teenager's mobile phone?

Gray begins to unravel a murky world of abuse, lies, and corruption. And when the body of Reverend David Hill is found shot to death in the vestry of Gray's old church, Gray wonders how far the depravity stretches and who might be next. Nothing seems connected, and yet there is one common thread: Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray, himself. As the bodies pile up, Gray must face his own demons.

Crippled by loss Gray takes the first step on the long road of redemption. But is the killer closer to home than he realised?

Set in the once grand town of Margate in the south of England, the now broken and depressed seaside resort becomes its own character in this dark detective thriller, perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart MacBride, and Peter James.

Dig Two Graves is the first in the Solomon Gray series. Pick it up now to discover whether Gray finds his son in this thrilling new crime series.

What Readers Say

"It's just too damned good, I loved it."
"I haven't given 5* for a while, this deserves it."
"Read it, you won't regret it."
"What a joy."
"Could not put it down."
"Grittiness seeps out of this book from every pore."
"The author has hooked me in yet again."
"OMG loved this book!"
"This is a must read."

What Others Say

"A stunning book and a new series that has become a must read."
-M.W. Craven, author of the Washington Poe series

"Keith Nixon does for Margate what Peter James did for Brighton ... As dark and brooding as the wind-lashed shores of the North Sea, and with its disturbing echoes of the Elm Guest House scandal and suggestions of deep-seated institutional corruption, Dig Two Graves is a superb addition to the rich Brit Crime scene."
Tim Baker, CWA shortlisted author of Fever City

"A compelling murder mystery with a multilayered and engaging new hero. Great read."
Mason Cross, author of the Carter Blake thriller series

"A damaged detective, haunted by a tragic past, a young son missing or dead, a man on a quest for redemption. Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray is a fine creation and Dig Two Graves an intriguing, nourish mystery. Keith Nixon is a sparkling crime fiction talent."
Howard Linskey, author of the Detective Ian Bradshaw crime series

"A dark, uncompromising tale of loss, murder, and revenge. Glorious noir, which takes the police procedural elements and gives them new life. I can't wait to read the next step in Solomon Gray's journey for answers ..."
Luca Veste, author of the Murphy and Rossi crime series

"... deeply emotional, a dark rollercoaster ride."
Ed James, author of bestselling DI Fenchurch series

Product Details

BN ID: 2940161831083
Publisher: Gladius Press
Publication date: 10/09/2018
Series: Detective Solomon Gray , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 1,233
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Keith Nixon is a British born writer of crime and historical fiction novels. Originally he trained as a chemist, but Keith is now in a senior sales role for a high-tech business. Keith currently lives with his family in the North West of England.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dig Two Graves 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous 12 months ago
Slow going
1uniqueone 3 months ago
Great read! Great author! Prompted me to to follow him. Keeps you reading into the late hours. Didn't want to put down the book.
Anonymous 6 months ago
A+page+turner.Pulls+you+in+with+psychological++twists++and++turns+.+Part+of+you+hates+Solomon++for+his+brash%2Cuncaring++attitude.Yet+you+feel+his+pain.
Anonymous 8 months ago
I+enjoyed+this+story.+It+had+some+Twista+and+turns+I+didn%27t+see+coming.+One+thing+though.++As+I+am+from+Texas+and+not+England%2C+I+have+no+idea+what+the+different++police+ranks+are+or+what+the+abbreviations+stand+for.++In+that+same+vein%2C++there+were+what+I+would+guess+are+English+slang++terms+that+I+also+didn%27t+understand.+Altogether+I+enjoyed+the+read%2C
Anonymous 9 months ago
Slow to start, but picks up nicely. Characters are well developed I will definitely read the next book.
JanaT 9 months ago
Dig Two Graves is the opening chapter of Keith Nixon’s Detective Solomon Gray series. It is an opening that will haunt you for days and makes you to reach for the next story in the series. I love series where there is one red line that runs through all the books while each book has its own ‘story’ as well! Add to this the location – once grand town of Margate in the south of England – and you are gone … gone for Detective Solomon Gray and his personal story! Dig Two Graves introduces us to Detective Gray and gives us his story, the disappearance of his six year old son, his never-ending search and his daily work as a Detective … this story revolves around a world of abuse, corruption, lies … it is the world where you do not know who is telling the truth and who is lying… there seems to be no end to depravity of the man … It is a dark ride that the writer is taking us, be prepared to suffer and rage with Solomon … you will feel broken and lost and you will give up and you are so wary that you no longer want to continue on the road to redemption … there is no end in sight … It is the best of the contemporary British crime stories and I can only hope that someone would pick up the series and create something that is in the same league with Broadchurch … (what is there in the south of England that brings out the worst in the man?). I cannot wait to continue walking alongside Detective Gray!
Anonymous 10 months ago
Twists%2C+turns%2C+spiraled+direction+and+misdirection+carries+the+charge%2C++I+rather+liked+many+of+the+actors...each+had+a+place+and+use%2C++I+would+read+this+author+again+and+hope+others+can+find++time+to+meet+these+slices+ofblife%2C+some+basic+things+as+a+microscopicvspecimen%2C+yetbpurpised%2C
Anonymous 10 months ago
I started a story to find out about missing son. It was one heck of a ride to watch a man spiral down to almost nothing. Then at the last moment the promise of the story surfaces again. I am hopefully confused in maybe the next book I will see the answer.
E_A_Walsh 10 months ago
Dig Two Graves (Detective Solomon Gray #1) by Keith Nixon was a heart pounding thriller that had me hooked. My first read by this author and for this series. I have to say I was hooked right away, and I didn't stop reading until the last page was flipped. Richly detailed, and emotional, this book will take you on a raw heart clutching ride, from a murder mystery to our MC's going through the memories of the days following and losing his son. Detective Solomon is a solid character and extremely well rounded and multi layered. Not a perfect person, the flaws make him relatable and realistic. Having such a strong MC, mixed with an equally as strong and solid plot, you have the perfect storm of books. I was engrossed and absorbed into this book, and frankly I didn't want it to end. Full of twist turns and misdirections, you will not be bored. This book holds your attention, there is no filler or lulls. So please take my super high recommendation and my stamp of approval, that this book is worth your time and energy, and I swear you will not be able to put it down. Happy Reading -E.A. Walsh
Anonymous 11 months ago
This story seemed to drag on and on. Lots of characters. Perhaps I need to read more by this author to adjust to this style of writing
Anonymous 12 months ago
I thoroughly enjoyed the book but was appalled at the blank areas I encountered in the script, left meaning up to interpretation. Sometimes parts of sentences, sometimes whole paragraphs were missing. Not the fault of the author, but someone was complacent in their responsibilities.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago