Dirty Beggar Living in My Head: One Guy's Musings about Evil and Hell

Dirty Beggar Living in My Head: One Guy's Musings about Evil and Hell

by Don Everts




In this visit to Don Everts's head, you'll meet The Dirty Beggar. He's hunched over, with bloodshot eyes and dressed in a dark, baggy robe. He's usually silent, sulking in a corner, but sometimes, late at night, he whispers in a hoarse, raspy voice. And nobody wants to hear the stories he tells, stories of evil and wrath and judgment.

Relax—Stuff Happens thinks that the Beggar is bent out of shape over nothing. Middle Class Spirituality can't bear the Beggar's intolerance. And Truth Is Relative dismisses the Beggar's absolutism. But regardless of what they think, the other ideas can't escape being confronted by the Beggar.

The Dirty Beggar is one of the most unpleasant, uncomfortable folks ever to visit your head. But he sticks around and haunts you. Find out why.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780830836130
Publisher: InterVarsity Press
Publication date: 12/28/2007
Series: One Guy's Head Series
Pages: 72
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 6.80(h) x 0.40(d)

About the Author

Don Everts is Minister of Outreach at Bonhomme Presbyterian Church in Chesterfield, Missouri, where he spends time cultivating relationships with people who are generally skeptical Christians with a passion for evangelism and global justice. He previously served as an area director for InterVarsity Christian Fellowship in Boulder, Colorado.

Most of Don's books are inspired by students. Jesus with Dirty Feet came from a summer of pick-up basketball with a group of Boulder locals. The Smell of Sin came from helping college men through temptations. The One Guy's Head Series came from an argument with a friend.

In college, Don majored in English and enjoyed courses in philosophy, religion and sociology. He loves books and reads broadly—from Russian novelist Fyodor Dostoyevsky to cyberpunk writer William Gibson. National Geographic and Wired are among his favorite magazines.

Don Everts's latest work for Likewise is the One Guy's Head Series.

Table of Contents

introduction: my head
1 meet the dirty beggar
2 the dirty beggar's story
3 the fist must fly
4 rapists one and all
5 the day of judgment
6 in the path of the fist conclusion: your head notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews