by Sarah Vaughan


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.



Part of Verve's Diva Series, this Sarah Vaughan collection is by no means a definitive look at her career. It is, however, a nice overview featuring a healthy slice of some of her best tracks. Included here are such popular recordings as "How High the Moon," "I Want to Be Happy," and "Misty." While most die-hard collectors will already own these tracks, listeners looking for a truthful introduction to Vaughan's mellow vocal style could do worse than this.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/20/2003
Label: Verve
UPC: 0044006520728
catalogNumber: 065207

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sarah Vaughan   Primary Artist,Vocals
Cannonball Adderley   Alto Saxophone
Richard Davis   Bass
Freddie Green   Guitar
Grey   Trombone
Bob James   Piano
Quincy Jones   Conductor
Thad Jones   Trumpet,Conductor
Barney Kessel   Guitar
Billy Mitchell   Tenor Saxophone
Joe Newman   Trumpet
Jerome Richardson   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Marshall Royal   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Charlie Shavers   Trumpet
Ronnell Bright   Piano
Pete Candoli   Trumpet
Bobby Donaldson   Percussion
Ronnie Lang   Alto Saxophone,Woodwind
Ernie Royal   Trumpet
Justin Gordon   Woodwind
Hal Mooney   Conductor
George Greeley   Piano
Felix Slatkin   Violin
David Nadien   Violin
Wayne Andre   Trombone
Victor Arno   Violin
Israel Baker   Violin
Frank Beach   Trumpet
Joe Benjamin   Bass
Cy Bernard   Cello
John Best   Trumpet
Harry Bluestone   Violin
Willie Bobo   Percussion
William Boucaya   Saxophone
Billy Byers   Trombone
Larry Bunker   Drums
Clark Terry   Trumpet
Kenny Clarke   Drums
Henry Coker   Trombone
Pierre Cullaz   Guitar
Wendell Culley   Trumpet
Alvin Dinkin   Viola
Bernard Eichen   Violin
Lewis Eley   Violin
Ernie Wilkins   Conductor
Frank Foster   Conductor,Tenor Saxophone
Charlie Fowlkes   Baritone Saxophone
Benny Gill   Violin
Bernie Glow   Trumpet
Emanuel Green   Violin
Harry Lookofsky   Tenor Violin
Roy Haynes   Drums
Freddie Hubbard   Trumpet
Dick Hixson   Bass Trombone
Jo Hrasko   Saxophone
Marcel Hrasko   Saxophone
George Hughes   Drums
J.J. Johnson   Trombone
Jimmy Jones   Piano
Harry Klee   Woodwind
Manny Klein   Trumpet
Leo Kruczek   Violin
Eddie Kusby   Trombone
Charles Libove   Violin
Dan Lube   Violin
Hugo Peretti   Conductor
Jose Mangual   Percussion
Sam Marowitz   Alto Saxophone
Ann Mason   Harp
Murray McEachern   Trombone
Randall Miller   Trombone
Sonny Payne   Drums
Benny Powell   Trombone
George Roberts   Trombone
Paul Robyn   Viola
Nathan Ross   Violin
Tosha Samaroff   Violin
Paul Shure   Violin
Zoot Sims   Saxophone
Marshall Sosson   Violin
Kirk Stuart   Piano
Turk VanLake   Guitar
Champ Webb   Woodwind
Frank Wess   Flute,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Kai Winding   Trombone
Phil Woods   Reeds
Snooky Young   Trumpet
Eleanor Slatkin   Cello
Michael A. Hauser   Vibes
Eudice Shapiro   Violin
Charles Williams   Bass
Juan Cadavieco   Percussion
Benny Goldson   Reeds
Raphael Sierra   Percussion

Technical Credits

Quincy Jones   Arranger,Producer
Thad Jones   Arranger
Ernie Wilkins   Arranger
Frank Foster   Arranger
Will Friedwald   Liner Notes
Bob Shad   Producer
Jack Tracy   Producer
Hollis King   Art Direction
Alexander Gelfand   Notes Editing
Ken Druker   Executive Producer
Ray Joseph   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews