Divided by Witchcraft: The True Story of the Samlesbury Witches (The Great Northern Witch Hunts, #2)

Divided by Witchcraft: The True Story of the Samlesbury Witches (The Great Northern Witch Hunts, #2)

by Karen Perkins

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details



Inspired by the treacherous true events surrounding the Pendle Witch Trials, Divided by Witchcraft is a gripping historical short story, written with honesty and "audacious humour". Perfect for fans of Katherine Clements, Stacey Halls and Rowan Coleman.


"The queen of this era, bar none" – Timothy Smith, amazon reviewer

Lancashire, 1612: Fourteen-year-old Grace Sowerbutts is at a dangerous crossroads, caught between the righteous might of the local Pendle Protestants, the fury of their Catholic neighbours, and the insidious threat of witchcraft.

Inspired by the true story of the Samlesbury Witches

Desperate to do the right thing, Grace's family is torn apart as the local Jesuit priest in hiding – Father Christopher Southworth of Samlesbury Hall – uses her to further his personal vendetta against his nephew's widow, Jane Southworth.

Jane's crime?
To reject his Catholic faith and join her parish church.
Therefore, she must be a witch.
Now all he has to do is prove it...


What readers are saying about Karen Perkins:

"I love your books!" - Rowan Coleman, author of The Girl at the Window and The Vanished Bride

"Great book!" - Kathleen McGurl, author of The Forgotten Gift

"Ms Perkins is a true artist of the spoken word" – JJ Toner, author of Black Orchestra

"Fantastically creepy ghost story" – Lee Franklin, author of Berserker and Nang Tani

"Karen Perkins is an excellent author and puts you right inside the Yorkshire Dales" – Mike McManus, Amazon reviewer

"Fantastic, atmospheric, tantalising, and edge of your seat read" – Jus, Amazon reviewer

Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940164499129
Publisher: LionheART Publishing House
Publication date: 12/09/2020
Series: The Great Northern Witch Hunts
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 397 KB

About the Author

Karen Perkins is the author of the Yorkshire Ghost Stories, the Pendle Witch Short Stories and the Valkyrie Series of historical nautical fiction. All of her fiction has appeared at the top of bestseller lists on both sides of the Atlantic, including the top 21 in the UK Kindle Store in 2018.

Her first Yorkshire Ghost Story – The Haunting Of Thores-Cross – won the Silver Medal for European Fiction in the prestigious 2015 Independent Publisher Book Awards in New York, whilst her Valkyrie novel, Dead Reckoning, was long-listed in the 2011 Mslexia novel competition.

Originally a financial advisor, a sailing injury left Karen with a chronic pain condition which she has been battling for over twenty five years (although she did take the European ladies title despite the injury!). Writing has given her a new lease of – and purpose to – life, and she is currently working on a sequel to Parliament of Rooks: Haunting Brontë Country, as well as more Pendle Witch short stories.

To find out more about current writing projects as well as special offers and competitions, you are very welcome to join Karen in her Facebook group. This is an exclusive group where you can get the news first, as well as have access to early previews and chances to get your hands on new books before anyone else. Find us on Facebook at:


See more about Karen Perkins, including contact details, on her website:


Karen is on Social Media:





Instagram: @YorkshireGhosts

Twitter: @LionheartG

Customer Reviews