by Clint Black
5.0 1

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.



A lot of artists talk about being adventurous, progressive, taking risks -- Clint Black doesn't talk about it; he's doing it. With D'LECTRIFIED the platinum perennial challenges his fans, country radio, and the mainstream in general. There may be no electric instruments at all on the album, but there are swooning strings, jazzy horns, and downright funky grooves. Still, in between "Bob Away My Blues," a souped-up version of the Marshall Tucker Band tune that Bob Wills would appreciate; "The Galaxy Song," by Monty Python's Eric Idle; and "Something That We Do," a surprising instrumental where Black demonstrates impressive chops as a guitarist; there's some quintessential Black fare for the diehards. Clint's ballad "When I Said I Do" is one of his finest introspective numbers ever, and has the added allure of sensuous harmonizing with his wife, Lisa Hartman Black, the first time the couple has teamed up musically. A duet with cowriter Steve Wariner on "Been There" turns into some kind of country funkfest, with a big backbeat and wailing harmonica pushing things along. Kenny Loggins, Edgar Winter, and Waylon Jennings also put in guest appearances on this surprising album. D'LECTRIFIED is best approached without preconceptions, because Black's pushing his personal envelope here. Give him credit for taking a chance when he could have settled for the usual million-selling formula.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/26/2006
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886970089029
catalogNumber: 700890

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Clint Black   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Harmonica,Recorder,Vocals,Background Vocals,Bass Harmonica
Jerry Douglas   Dobro
Marty Stuart   Mandolin
Skip Ewing   Acoustic Guitar
Waylon Jennings   Vocals
Steve Wariner   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Bruce Hornsby   Piano,Vocals
Kenny Loggins   Vocals
Matt Rollings   Piano,Piano (Grand)
Lenny Castro   Percussion,Tambourine,Washboard
Stuart Duncan   Fiddle
Edgar Winter   Alto Saxophone
Gary Grant   Trumpet
Jerry Hey   Trumpet
Dan Higgins   Baritone Saxophone
Eric Idle   Vocals
Julian King   Recorder
Abraham Laboriel   Acoustic Bass
Hayden Nicholas   12-string Guitar,12-string Bass Guitar
Bobbi Page   Background Vocals
Dean Parks   Acoustic Guitar,Slide Guitar,Classical Guitar,Guitar (Resonator)
Joel Peskin   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
John "J.R." Robinson   Drums
Lawrence L. Williams   Baritone Saxophone
Simon Tassano   Recorder
Ricky Cobble   Recorder
Lawrence Williams   Baritone Saxophone
William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach   Trombone
Steve Real   Vocals,Background Vocals
Ray Rogers   Tenor Banjo
Lisa Hartman-Black   Vocals
Kevin Nealon   Banjo,5-string Banjo

Technical Credits

Clint Black   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Steve Dorff   Orchestral Arrangements,Choir Arrangement
Julian King   Engineer
Hayden Nicholas   Composer
Doug Sax   Max
James Stroud   Executive Producer
Simon Tassano   Engineer
Richard Hanson   Engineer,Engineering Support
Larry Herbstritt   String Conductor
Mary Hamilton   Art Direction
Frankie Miller   Composer
Ricky Cobble   Engineer
Ken Fredette   Reissue Design
Ray Rogers   Engineer,Engineering Support
Jeff Basso   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

D'Lectrified 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
There is something for everyone on this album, and Mr. Black's versatility and talent shine. Every song's a hit- buy it!