Pub. Date:
Do Right

Do Right

by Sugar Candy MountainSugar Candy Mountain


$15.55 $15.99 Save 3% Current price is $15.55, Original price is $15.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 30


Integrating lush chamber-psych arrangements with a cornucopia of breezy vintage pop inspirations, Oakland's Sugar Candy Mountain maintain their sunny West Coast feel on Do Right, their follow-up to 2016's provocatively titled but otherwise amiable 666. Working once again with Papercuts' Jason Quever as producer, co-frontpeople Ash Reiter and Will Halsey turn their thematic gaze toward a more turbulent and divided world, offering paeans to anxious times in the guise of Pacific-toned, distinctively Californian pop. In the face of political and social unrest, Do Right seems to steer toward meditative affirmations and the wholesome appeal of the natural world. Assimilating the musical flavor and titular concept of the Beach Boys' "Let's Go Away for Awhile," songs like "Quiet Place" and "Do You Know the Place?" touch on themes of both physical and mental escapism, keeping the darkness (mostly) at bay with woozy orchestrated pop arrangements and hushed vocal melodies. A greater emphasis on both synthesizers and more synthetic-sounding textures gives the album a more contemporary feel than earlier Sugar Candy Mountain releases, further adding to the moody undertones roiling beneath calm waters. Standout cut "Happening" pairs an appealingly clever melodic structure with a sort of grim urgency, its chorus intoning "We haven't much time/So do what you like/The world isn't waiting." Having spent a number of years resting their sound within the tranquility of tropicalia and bright '60s West Coast pop, it's nice to hear Halsey and Reiter shouldering the responsibility of weightier substance on this strong outing.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/04/2018
Label: Joyful Noise Records
UPC: 0714270692239
catalogNumber: 69223
Rank: 139226


  1. Split in Two
  2. Crystalline
  3. This Time Around
  4. Happening
  5. Quiet Place
  6. Mar-a-Lago
  7. Tidal Wave
  8. Losing Myself
  9. Stickeen
  10. Do You Know the Place?

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sugar Candy Mountain   Primary Artist
Jason Quever   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards
Matt Popieluch   Vocals
Matt Adams   Guitar
Joe Santa Maria   Baritone Saxophone
Ash Reiter   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals
Sean Olmstead   Guitar
Will Halsey   Bass,Guitar,Drums,Keyboards,Vocals
Thomas Edler   Vibes
Connor Gallaher   Pedal Steel Guitar
Sivan Lioncub   Violin
Peter Maffei   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Jason Quever   Producer
Ash Reiter   Composer,Producer
Will Halsey   Composer,Producer
Jess Willa Wheaton   Artwork
Alex Curran   Layout

Customer Reviews