The Dolphins of Pern (Dragonriders of Pern Series #13)

The Dolphins of Pern (Dragonriders of Pern Series #13)

by Anne McCaffrey

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - REPRINT)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, March 27

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780345368959
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 09/28/1995
Series: Dragonriders of Pern Series , #13
Edition description: REPRINT
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 187,422
Product dimensions: 4.19(w) x 6.87(h) x 0.98(d)
Lexile: 980L (what's this?)
Age Range: 14 - 18 Years

About the Author

Anne McCaffrey, one of the world’s most popular authors, is best known for her Dragonriders of Pern® series. She was the first woman to win the two top prizes for science fiction writing, the Hugo and Nebula awards. She was also given the American Library Association’s Margaret A. Edwards Award for Lifetime Literary Achievement in Young Adult Fiction, was inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame, and was named a Science Fiction Writers of America Grand Master. Born in Cambridge, Massachusetts, in 1926, McCaffrey relocated to Ireland in the 1970s, where she lived in a house of her own design, named Dragonhold-Underhill. She died in 2011.

Read an Excerpt

CHAPTER I
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "The Dolphins of Pern"
by .
Copyright © 1995 Anne McCaffrey.
Excerpted by permission of Random House Publishing Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dolphins of Pern 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hooked on this dragon series.....I just hope they get the rest of this series in ebook format soon, there are a few in this series that I love to read and reread.......
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
great read,great escape.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the part where they were reminiscing about Robinton after he died.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Okay this is great! I liked this about the same as Kingdoms and Elves of the Reaches. Mrs. McCaffrey is on to something here.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love the Pen books but this one just wasn't up to my standards. The child (Readis) who is not understood by his parents is too reminiscent of Menolly's story, and there was too little of the dolphins and too much of Readis. Pern also changed a lot in this book and what I think made Pern interesting is how people interacted and were dependant upon each other, when that changed it disappointed me. If you want to read about Pern's dolphins, read the story in the chronicles of pern, it's a much better story!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Anne McCaffrey does it again! This book is great; it takes a good deal of effort to put this book down. But then, all of McCaffrey's books have that endearing quality. The re-discovery of the dolphins and the events that take place after-ward will keep your eyes glued to the page.
jpsnow on LibraryThing 11 months ago
Convincing closure to the thread era on Pern. Intriguing storyline at efficient pace.
wyvernfriend on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I had been wondering if Anne McCaffrey would write a book about the Ship Fish or Doll fins that appeared occasionally in earlier books and this is the story of the Dolphins creating a relationship again with people in the southern sea hold of Paradise River. It's also the story of Alemi, a young boy with an open mind. It's pretty average for a Pern novel, it really lagged occasionally and sometimes it felt rushed. Ah well it was an interesting revisit.
maita on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Imagine, two boys bonded together because of dolphins. Through their struggles, they reintroduced the dolphins to the rest of Pern. Readis was fascinated by dolphins the moment he was saved by them. And they talked to him and his uncle Alemi! His dream is to be a Dolphineer, like one of the ancients. T'lion is young. He impressed Bronze Gaddareth when he was only ten. It was too young for Weyr standars but they have no choice. Too young to fly thread, he becomes a taxi driver for important people coming and going to Landing. There, he meets Alemi and the dolphins. He was then acquainted to Readis and his ideas of helping the dolphins.Its a very fascinating story. I actually would understand why the dolphins would want to leave polluted earth. They are the most patient and understanding creatures. I love dolphins.In the end, Readis heads Dolphins Hall with T'lion and Gaddy as Dolphin liaison for the Weyrs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anne wrote of a wonderful addition to her dragons and firelizards.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great coming-of-age tale set on Pern. McCaffery always delivers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bill46 More than 1 year ago
Anne's best series and a great edtition to the story of Pern. Anne writes with feelings and heart. She draws you into the world of PERN and the life of her charactors.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rhyasha0724 More than 1 year ago
How can you go wrong with dragons and dolphins?! Add in the facts that Anne McCaffrey wrote it and it's a Pern book and life just doesn't get any better! A must for fans of Anne McCaffrey and Pern or if you just love drogons and/or dolphins. I have read and reread all of the Pern books many times, but I think I have reread this one the most!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was by far my favorite book of the Pern series, but I do love them all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago