Don't Get Me Wrong: A Novel

Don't Get Me Wrong: A Novel

by Marianne Kavanagh

NOOK Book(eBook)

$11.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

For fans of Jojo Moyes, David Nicholls, and Sophie Kinsella, here is a Pride and Prejudice for the modern era: Londoners Kim and Harry can’t see eye to eye…until the life of the person they both love most hangs in the balance.

Kim and Harry are total opposites who happen to have the same favorite people in the world: Kim’s older sister, Eva, and her young son, Otis. Kim has never seen what her free-spirited big sister sees in a stuck-up banker like Harry and has spent her childhood trying to keep him out (must he always drive the most ostentatious cars and insist on charming everyone he meets?), while Harry’s favorite occupation is provoking Kim.

Both Harry and Kim are too stuck in their prejudices to care about what’s really going on beneath the surface of each other’s lives. They’ll never understand each other—until the worst of all tragedy strikes. Faced with the possibilities of losing the person they both love most, long-buried secrets come to a head in ways that will change both Harry and Kim forever.

As in her “hilarious, poignant, and profound” (Daily Mail) novel For Once in My Life, Marianne Kavanagh tackles the bonds of family, friendship, and love through sophisticated storytelling. Don’t Get Me Wrong is a witty and heartwarming book that will charm readers everywhere.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781476755373
Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Publication date: 08/25/2015
Sold by: SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 336
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

Marianne Kavanagh is a former deputy editor of Marie Claire and has contributed to a wide variety of newspapers, magazines, and websites, including the Telegraph, the Daily Mail, The Guardian, My Daily, Easy Living, and Red. She lives in London. Visit her online at MarianneKavanagh.com, or follow her on Twitter @MarianneKav.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Don't Get Me Wrong: A Novel 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
cloggiedownunder More than 1 year ago
Don’t Get Me Wrong is the second novel by British magazine columnist, editor and author, Marianne Kavanagh. Sisters Eva and Kim are used to looking after themselves: their breathtakingly-selfish father left to marry another woman when Kim was fourteen; their mother, Grace, a dazzlingly self-centred social climber, often absent, eventually abandoned them for a life in the south of France. But since Kim’s early teens, Harry has been around: always with Eva, managing to charm everyone he meets, except Kim. He always seems to be laughing at Kim, making fun of her. Harry works in the City: a financial analyst who is obscenely rich and far too smug for Kim’s liking. Why they are together at all, Harry with his snappy suits and his Porsche, Eva with her hippy clothes and her sympathy towards all matters environmental, has Kim baffled. But even when an unplanned pregnancy and an eviction from their childhood home challenge the sisters, Kim steadfastly refuses to accept help from Harry. Kavanagh’s plot may be somewhat predictable, but the journey to the ultimate ending does, nevertheless, have a few twists. The tale covers over a decade in the lives of Eva, Harry and Kim, their family, their close friends and lovers: lives filled with ordinary events like births, weddings, funerals, jobs, promotions and redundancies, overseas trips, illness and infidelity. Kavanagh’s characters are familiar from everyday life, but even some of those who seem to start out as stereotypes reveal a surprise or two (although Grace manages to consistently maintain her superficiality with this mantra: “You owe it to other people to make the best of yourself. All of us have a duty to make the world a more beautiful place”). Kim is perhaps the most frustrating, although she eventually finds her way with the help of a wise sister and many good friends. Kavanagh gives the reader plenty of humour: Izzie’s stand-up routines are a delight, and the snappy banter between the characters is fun. Her descriptive prose is wonderful: “Izzie’s Newcastle accent was stronger than usual. Her parents reactivated it, like sugar on yeast” and “For a moment, he couldn’t speak. It was all locked away in his mind. But he could feel the pressure of it, like a cupboard crammed full of old coats that someone has forced shut. Sometimes the effort of keeping it closed exhausted him” are examples. Kavanagh gives her characters some insightful observations: “Maybe Christine was right. It was shock. Maybe grief makes people so weird and broken and ugly that they can’t think straight. We’re like chickens, thought Kim, flapping about after the fox has been in, making a lot of noise in a mess of blood and feathers”, and there are plenty of words of wisdom, but readers are also warned to have the tissues ready for the final chapter: only the most callous will not find themselves choking up. Fans who enjoyed Kavanagh’s first novel will not be disappointed with this offering.
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
Kim’s sister Eva is in the hospital and Kim called Harry Kim’s best friend even though she and Harry didn’t get along. Kim loved her sister Eva more than anything in the world. Kim can’t understand how Eva can love Harry as her best friend he is a banker and rich and always tries to charm everyone he meets. Harry loves to get Kim going. Kim sees Harry around a lot because of Eva. Kim wishes harry would just fall off the face of the earth. But with Eva now in the hospital Harry and Kim were forced to spend a lot of time together in difficult situations. Then Eva dies and Kim has to raise her six year old nephew. I didn’t particularly like this story. I don't like going into the past to explain the present not in this story anyhow. Just tell the past first then go to the present. I thought a lot of times Kim just acted very immature. I also didn’t like how this ended. I just personally didn’t see a lot in this story I liked. However there were parts i choked up in as it was sad in parts. I received an ARC of this story for an honest review.