Don't Let Me Go: A Novel

Don't Let Me Go: A Novel

by Susan Lewis
4.6 17

Paperback(Reprint)

$9.93 $15.00 Save 34% Current price is $9.93, Original price is $15. You Save 34%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, September 29 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

Don't Let Me Go: A Novel by Susan Lewis

In this follow-up to the riveting international bestseller No Child of Mine, author Susan Lewis delivers an emotionally complex novel—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult—of reinvention, reconnection, and the deepest love that can bind two people together.

Charlotte Nicholls can hardly believe it, but it seems she’s landed in paradise. Living in a cottage in a shady cove on the beautiful Bay of Islands, surrounded by the splendor of New Zealand, Charlotte revels in her new life. She and her nearly four-year-old daughter, Chloe, have started over, with the help of Charlotte’s birth mother, Anna, who has recently reentered Charlotte’s life after a twenty-six-year absence. Little Chloe is thriving in her new home, and despite lingering effects from a terrible trauma Chloe has suffered, Charlotte is hopeful that love will pull her through. And though their relationship is tentative, Charlotte and Anna are slowly rebuilding their trust after nearly a lifetime apart.
 
But the horrors of the past—both recent and long buried—are never far from Charlotte’s mind. And then their idyll is suddenly shattered, as a series of events is set in motion that Charlotte can neither control nor comprehend. It will take all of Charlotte’s strength to keep her little family together, in the face of a world that will do everything it can to tear them apart.

Praise for Don’t Let Me Go
 
“An emotionally complex novel.”USA Today

“Unputdownable . . . a compelling blend of family dynamics, courtroom drama, and love story.”Booklist

“You know you’re in the hands of a master storyteller when you can’t bear the tension. Susan Lewis drops you into a nightmare where the best interests of a child collide with the law designed to protect her. The endearing little girl at the center of this poignant and gripping tale, as well as the brave protagonist, will win your heart.”—Diane Chamberlain, internationally bestselling author of The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes

“A gripping tale that pulls you in from the first chapter to the end, Don’t Let Me Go is a read that will remind you just how precious children are.”—Romance Reviews Today

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780345547736
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 07/02/2013
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 544
Sales rank: 361,611
Product dimensions: 5.36(w) x 7.88(h) x 1.19(d)

About the Author

Susan Lewis is the internationally bestselling author of twenty-nine novels, including No Child of Mine, Missing, A French Affair, and Stolen. She is also the author of Just One More Day and One Day at a Time, the deeply moving and often hilarious memoirs of her childhood in the sixties. Having resided in France and the United States for many years, she now lives in the rural county of Gloucestershire, U.K.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Don't Let Me Go 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
mzglorybe More than 1 year ago
This kept my attention from the onset, although it could have been shaved by 100 pages and still been as effective. The writing was good, albeit a bit repetitive in the emotional upheaval the main character experiences. Charlotte tries our patience at times, but as you learn her background, you can understand why... we all know people with chips on their shoulders, that doesn't mean we can't like them. The locale is New Zealand (now I want to go there). Charlotte, a social worker by profession, has taken a 3-year-old abused, practically mute child, to live there with Charlotte's family. The child is thriving there, coming out of her shell and enjoying a new family, friends, the culture and serenity of the area, but she is there illegally and Chloe is her "new" name. Their time together has blossomed to the point that Chloe calls Charlotte "Mummy" never having bonded to her own mentally unstable (now deceased) mother, and Charlotte's whole focus is now on Chloe. She wants nothing more than to give Chloe stability and happiness. The opportunity arose when Chloe witnesses the murder of her biological mother and the arrest of her father. Charlotte had been the social worker assigned to Chloe's case of suspected sexual abuse, and rescues her that very night of the murder. Charlotte chose not to risk further trauma to the child by the unpredictability and often unreliable system of child protective services, and takes matters into her own hands. What follows is the inevitability of those actions. I found this writing to be well constructed, believable and thought-consuming. I didn't feel it necessary to read the prior novel (this is a sequel) as there is enough reference from that to what is relevant for this novel. The New Zealand locale, & the island culture was well described and inviting. The abuse of the child was handled in a delicate manner, with no overly graphic sexual scenes, but enough so we get the point of what poor Chloe went through at the hands of her own father, and why she was afraid to be around men in general. Her story tugs at the heartstrings. There are multiple back-stories going on here as well... Charlotte's with her own mother, with her step-family, and with the lawyer who defended her and made a good case for Charlotte's actions. There is even some romance thrown in. The characters are well developed and likable, I enjoyed getting acquainted with every one of them. Apparently, the author favors writing about children in peril, not one of my favorite venues, but she definitely has caught my interest as a writer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I throughly enjoyed this. i wish I had read No Child Of Mine first. I am hoping that a contued series of books are soon to cme out. I want to know more of this adventure of love despire, desire especially where a child is concer ned. Looking forward to reading your other books also.Thank you to Goodreads first reads for the oppurtinity to read this book through your giveaways.
Anonymous 24 days ago
I went through a lot of emotions reading this story, happines, angry, fear and such joy. This book is well written and a wonder to read. I think the characters are fabulous. I won't forget this one for a long time.
Anonymous 8 months ago
A real page turner. I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down, stayed up all night to finish it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It had my attention all the way thru it. It was hard to stop reading it to do other things.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
(Before l forget I want to let everybody to know there are 427 pages in this book.I know people request that alot,so l'm going to include that and would appreciate if others do that as well) O.K.,back to the subject at hand.I know I was reading a fiction story and that maybe chapter21was spicing things up abit.My question is,is the state so hard up for'FOSTER'S"that someone like(Mel-wife,Dave-husband)even be considered?I know alot could happen behind closed doors but things that are apparent such as filthyness,smoke oders,age differances,boys with girls and vice versa.Something I do know is that so many do it for the money.KUDOS to the ones that really do care.GOD BLESS YOU AND TO THE CHILDREN~~~~~~GRANNY B.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hard to read gut rippinng so well written kudos to hard working and dedicated social service workers every where you have always had my respect
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
VERY GOOD READ. KEEPS YOU INTERESTED TIL THE END OF THE STORY. WE HAD THIS BOOK FOR OUR BOOK CLUB WITH GOOD REVIEWS
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughedly enjoyed this book, actually could not put it down. Wish I had known to read No Child of Mine first but will still read - good story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As with the first book I couldn't put this book down. I highly recommend that people read both books.