Doormaker: Rock Heaven (Book 1)

Doormaker: Rock Heaven (Book 1)

by Jamie Thornton
Doormaker: Rock Heaven (Book 1)

Doormaker: Rock Heaven (Book 1)

by Jamie Thornton


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, December 11
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


From New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Jamie Thornton.

Three worlds are falling apart...
...but making portals is forbidden.
Can an untrained Doormaker save her family, and Earth, in time?

"…very evocative…" - BookNest, C.T. Phipps ★★★★★

"Imagine not being able to open a door without mistakenly opening a portal to another world…" - Amie's Book Reviews ★★★★★

"This book series is haunting me…" GoodReads Reviewer ★★★★★


Since before Maella can remember, one family rule has shaped her life: never open a door. Maella comes from a family of doormakers—people who unleash otherworldly violence when they open something even as simple as a cabinet door.

But when Maella is forced to open a portal she discovers worlds of nightmarish flying monsters, mystical drug deals, political prisoners, religious cults, and a terrifying prediction: Maella will die upon opening her seventh door. In order to survive, Maella must uncover her family's secrets, all while hiding her identity and outrunning the prediction of her death.

But what do you do when the truth you need could destroy the universe?

Find out in BOOK ONE of the Doormaker series from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jamie Thornton.

As chronicled in the Doormaker series, Maella will grow into a complex, young woman who dares to fall in love with a young man she's not sure she can trust. She'll learn the hard way how to control her strange powers. Her choices will determine the fate of everyone she loves. This is a series for readers who love portals, alternate worlds, epic adventures, falling in love for the first time, hard choices, secrets, monsters, enduring friendships, dazzling libraries, sweeping battles, and much, much more.


The short story (Devil's Harvest) and the short novel (Torchlighters) can be read and enjoyed at any point during the series. Otherwise, the books are written into the timeline in the following order:

  • Devil's Harvest (Prequel Short Story)
  • Rock Heaven (Book 1)
  • Torchlighters (Short Novel)
  • Tower of Shadows (Book 2)
  • Library of Souls (Book 3)
  • The One Door (Book 4)

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781393468677
Publisher: Igneous Books
Publication date: 01/07/2018
Series: Doormaker , #1
Pages: 410
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.91(d)

About the Author

Jamie Thornton is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Feast of Weeds series and Rhinoceros Summer. She lives in Northern California with her husband, two dogs, a garden, lots of chickens, a viola, and a bicycle. She writes thrilling science fiction and fantasy adventures. Follow her at
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews