ISBN-10:
1493424386
ISBN-13:
9781493424382
Pub. Date:
Publisher:
Dorothy and Jack: The Transforming Friendship of Dorothy L. Sayers and C. S. Lewis

Dorothy and Jack: The Transforming Friendship of Dorothy L. Sayers and C. S. Lewis

by Gina Dalfonzo

NOOK Book(eBook)

$12.99 $16.99 Save 24% Current price is $12.99, Original price is $16.99. You Save 24%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

What happens when we push past the surface and allow real, grounded, mutually challenging, and edifying friendships to develop? We need only look at the little-known friendship between eminent Christian thinkers Dorothy L. Sayers and C. S. Lewis to find out. Born out of a fan letter that celebrated mystery novelist Sayers wrote to Lewis as his star was just beginning to rise, this friendship between a married woman and a longtime bachelor developed over years of correspondence as the two discovered their mutual admiration of each other's writing, thinking, and faith.

In a time when many Christians now aren't even sure that a man and a woman can be "just friends" and remain faithful, Gina Dalfonzo's engaging treatment of the relationship between two of Christianity's most important modern thinkers and writers will resonate deeply with anyone who longs for authentic, soul-stirring friendships that challenge them to grow intellectually and spiritually. Fans of Lewis and Sayers will find here a fascinating addition to their collections.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781493424382
Publisher: Baker Publishing Group
Publication date: 08/18/2020
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 208
Sales rank: 1,065,839
File size: 7 MB

About the Author

Gina Dalfonzo is the author of One by One, a columnist at Christ & Pop Culture, and founder and editor of Dickensblog. Her writing has been published in The Atlantic, Christianity Today, First Things, National Review, The Weekly Standard, Guideposts, Aleteia, Sehnsucht: The C.S. Lewis Journal, In Pursuit of Truth: A Journal of Christian Scholarship, Literary Life, and OnFaith, among others. She earned her BA in English from Messiah College and her MA, also in English, from George Mason University. Dalfonzo lives in Springfield, Virginia.

Table of Contents

Introduction 9

1 "No Mean City": Oxford and World War I 21

2 "A High Wind": The Beginning of Friendship 45

3 "Hey! Whoa!": A Conflict 67

4 "A Complete Blank": Of Men, Women, and Williams 83

5 "Sister Dinosaur" 121

6 "I Do Most Heartily Rejoice": In Joy and Sorrow 147

7 "A Friend, Not an Ally" 157

Timeline 173

Acknowledgments 183

Notes 185

Customer Reviews