Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Usually ships within 1 week


Dostoyevsky's Occasional Writings by Fyodor Dostoevsky, Fyodor M. Dostoevsky

This classic collection of articles, sketches, and letters spans thirty-three years in Fyodor Dostoevsky's writing career: from 1847, just after the publication of his first novel, until 1880, a year before his death. The writings show the scope of his artistic development and the changes that occurred as a result of such cataclysmic events as his arrest and trial for treason, and his subsequent imprisonment and exile in Siberia.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780810114739
Publisher: Northwestern University Press
Publication date: 07/28/1997
Edition description: 1
Pages: 376
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

One of the most powerful and significant authors in all modern fiction, Fyodor Dostoevsky was the son of a harsh and domineering army surgeon who was murdered by his own serfs (slaves), an event that was extremely important in shaping Dostoevsky's view of social and economic issues. He studied to be an engineer and began work as a draftsman. However, his first novel, Poor Folk (1846), was so well received that he abandoned engineering for writing. In 1849, Dostoevsky was arrested for being a part of a revolutionary group that owned an illegal printing press. He was sentenced to be executed, but the sentence was changed at the last minute, and he was sent to a prison camp in Siberia instead. By the time he was released in 1854, he had become a devout believer in both Christianity and Russia - although not in its ruler, the Czar. During the 1860's, Dostoevsky's personal life was in constant turmoil as the result of financial problems, a gambling addiction, and the deaths of his wife and brother. His second marriage in 1887 provided him with a stable home life and personal contentment, and during the years that followed he produced his great novels: Crime and Punishment (1886), the story of Rodion Raskolnikov, who kills two old women in the belief that he is beyond the bounds of good and evil; The Idiot (1868), the story of an epileptic who tragically affects the lives of those around him; The Possessed (1872), the story of the effect of revolutionary thought on the members of one Russian community; A Raw Youth (1875), which focuses on the disintegration and decay of family relationships and life; and The Brothers Karamazov (1880), which centers on the murder of Fyodor Karamazov and the effect the murder has on each of his four sons. These works have placed Dostoevsky in the front rank of the world's great novelists. Dostoevsky was an innovator, bringing new depth and meaning to the psychological novel and combining realism and philosophical speculation in his complex studies of the human condition.

David Magarshack's translations include works by Dostoevsky, Turgenev, Chekhov, Gorky, and Pushkin. He has also written biographies of Dostoevsky and Gogol.

Table of Contents

Introduction by David Magarshack

Four Essays from The Petersburg News
Five Articles from Time
     I. Introduction
     II. Mr. —bov and the Question of Art
     III. Pedantry and Literacy. First Article.
     IV. Pedantry and Literacy. Second Article
     V. The Latest Literary Controversies
Four "Manifestoes" from Time and Epoch
Small Sketches
    (During a Journey)
The Surrender of Metz
    Maréchal Bazaine
The Triton
Nine Letters from the Fourth and Last Volume of The Letters of Dostoevsky
    I. Immortality, Christ, and Dichotomy
    II. Letter to Yekaterina Yunge
    III. The Brothers Karamazov: A Request
    IV. The Brothers Karamazov: An Elucidation
    V. Children's Reading
    VI. A Page from the Past
    VII. A Famous Writer's Troubles: Impostors and Literary Small Fry
    VIII. Letter to an Unsuccessful Writer
    IX. Letter to an Unsuccessful Writer


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews