Double Feature: A Novel

Double Feature: A Novel

by Owen King
2.6 7

Hardcover

$18.59 $26.00 Save 29% Current price is $18.59, Original price is $26. You Save 29%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, August 23 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

Double Feature: A Novel by Owen King

An epic debut novel about a young man coming to terms with his life in the process and aftermath of making his first film—from critically acclaimed short story writer Owen King—for readers of Joshua Ferris, Sam Lipsyte, and Chad Harbach.

Filmmaker Sam Dolan has a difficult relationship with his father, B-movie actor Booth Dolan—a boisterous, opinionated, lying lothario whose screen legacy falls somewhere between cult hero and pathetic. Allie, Sam’s dearly departed mother, was a woman whose only fault, in Sam’s eyes, was her eternal affection for his father. Also included in the cast of indelible characters: a precocious, frequently violent half-sister; a conspiracy-theorist second wife; an Internet-famous roommate; a family friend and contractor who can’t stop expanding his house; a happy-go-lucky college girlfriend and her husband, a retired Yankees catcher; the morose producer of a true crime show; and a slouching indie film legend. Not to mention a tragic sex monster.

Unraveling the tumultuous, decades-spanning story of the Dolan family’s friends, lovers, and adversaries, Double Feature is about letting go of everything—regret, resentment, ambition, dignity, moving pictures, the dead—and taking it again from the top. Combining propulsive storytelling and mordant wit against the backdrop of indie filmmaking, Double Feature brims with a deep understanding of the trials of ambition and art, of relationships and life, and of our attempts to survive it all.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781451676891
Publisher: Scribner
Publication date: 03/19/2013
Pages: 419
Sales rank: 1,337,993
Product dimensions: 6.30(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

Owen King is a graduate of Vassar College and the MFA program at the Columbia University School of the Arts. He is the author of We’re All in This Together: A Novella and Stories, as well as the co-editor of Who Can Save Us Now?: Brand New Superheroes and Their Amazing (Short) Stories. His writing has appeared in Fairy Tale Review, One Story, Prairie Schooner, and Subtropics, among other publications. Owen has also taught creative writing at Columbia University and Fordham University and is a working screenwriter with a script in development by the producer of Winter’s Bone. He is married to the novelist Kelly Braffet.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Double Feature 2.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
dsmCO More than 1 year ago
Owen King's first novel attempt is a solid potrayal of everyday life. It follows Sam as he is trying to make something of his life while overcoming the inadequacies he feels from his father's career. Booth was a B actor in many unforgetable films, and even though Sam tries his own attempts in acting and directing, he works hard to not draw any parallels to his Dad. If you go into reading this book trying to see similarities to the author's famous roots, you will be disappointed. It is solid writing, but not in the same area as the first novels of the rest of the family, i.e. "Carrie", "Small World", or "Heart Shaped Box". It's not even the same genre. That's what makes this a gem of a first novel. Owen King shows that he can write his own characters and plot without leaning on his "legacy" to help. If you are looking for a nice read about a character struggling to make his place in his own life the best way that he can, this is a a good start.
Marniejade More than 1 year ago
I heard about this book from a posting on Facebook, and given that was written by Owen King, Stephen King's son, I ordered it right away.   I'm an avid Stephen King fan (I've read everything he's written and loved every word) I had high hopes for Owen's debut novel.  Frankly, I was not let down.  This is an amazing read, and I was sorry to read the final words at the end.  King has a tremendous talent for making believable and realistic characters.  Sam Dolan comes across as a lost soul who is trying to find his place in the world.  I could certainly identify with this, and my heart ached for Sam in his self-induced suffering.  I wanted to shake him at times to try to wake him up to say stop with this foolishness and live your life.  Owen did a fantastic job with these characters and story line.  He grabbed me from the beginning with his easy prose and smooth writing.  The one thing that I have always enjoyed about the King tribe is that they are such avid storytellers who plunk down in your head and spin a hell of a yarn.  Owen King is proudly carrying on that tradition, yet stands by his own rights as a hell of an author.  I laughed many times in reading this book, and I immensely enjoyed the imagery he creates  It's a book about movies, and I certainly felt like I was watching one.  This is a wonderful, cynical and realistic book that as a lot of bite to it.  I look forward to his next novel.  It is wonderful to see and read that the immense talent of the King family is continuing on.
Anonymous 5 months ago
SteveDeg More than 1 year ago
My first intro to Owen King. No disappointments. the story of a up and coming movie maker , with his trials and tribulations. Surrounded by family and friends, Sam Dolan paddles his way through feelings from a pompous B movie actor father, a heart breaking memories of his mother, Allie, being ignored and emotional drained by his preoccupied father. Nefarious affairs with a friends wife, and a woman who truly cares for him but is ignored by Sam at times. An eccentric friend who can't get out of his own way, and a godfather, Tom, a builder of sorts who continually adds on to his existing home of perpetuity. The characters well drawn, with their confusing personalities. Owen writes like a seasoned veteran, the prose was amazing. A well drawn out story that will please any reader of intelligent prose. I was amazed at his talent. He comes on the scene with a knockout punch.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous 6 months ago
This book has very few redeeming qualities. There are no characters you care about and the only thing to look forward to is finally finishing it. A real, unsatisfying, pretentious slog!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Got this from my local library and am so glad I didn't buy it. Could barely get through the first 70 pages before I had to say enough. Was definately disappointed. Thought since Owen King is SK's son it would have been good but was wrong. Would not recommend this book. Sorry but it just was not what one would expect from the son of Stephen King. Maybe will give it another chance in the future but for now it isn't something I find wirth continuing to try to get through. Only gave 1 star because can not post without at least that many. For now this is a thumbs down from me. Some might enjoy this but it just is not my kind read at this time.