Dowland: Dowland's Tears - Lute Music, Vol. 2

Dowland: Dowland's Tears - Lute Music, Vol. 2

by Nigel North


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Dowland: Dowland's Tears - Lute Music, Vol. 2

This is the second of two discs by British-American lutenist Nigel North covering the complete lute music of John Dowland, the lutenist Shakespeare would likely have thought of when he thought of the lute. The division of pieces between the two discs is logical, with Dowland's most famous instrumental work, the "Lachrimae Pavan," included here along with a group of other pieces that are related to it in some way. The "Lachrimae Pavan" lives up to its name, but along with Dowland's self-professed melancholy came a more meditative quality; he seemed to enjoy taking a musical idea and working on it some more, even over and above the penchant of his age for reusing musical material and turning vocal into instrumental works. The "alternative version" of the "Lachrimae Pavan," track 17, includes divisions or variations probably not by Dowland, but it is still interesting to hear in this context, and the final "Semper Dowland Semper Dolens" (Always Dowland, Always Sad) also reworks the "Lachrimae" idea. These works are joined by other pavans, lute versions of sad songs, a funeral piece, and "Dowland's Adieu," and even the few faster-paced galliards have a sober tone. North's readings are not lugubrious but rather tap into the reflective quality of Dowland's music; the contents of the disc are sober, to be sure, but North conveys the feeling of a master musician at work in the chambers of a noble patron, setting high standards of skill, refinement, and imagination. The program makes sense on its own as a Dowland lute disc for those who may not want the set of two. The only downside is excessively big, boomy sound, recorded in a Canadian church (was a church a typical locale for a lute performance?) that unforgivingly exposes every little non-tonal noise of the lute.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/12/2006
Label: Naxos
UPC: 0747313286225
catalogNumber: 8557862


  1. Lachrimae Pavan, for keyboard or lute (from "Lachrimae")
  2. Galliard to Lachrimae, for lute, P 46
  3. Pavan, for lute in G minor, P 16
  4. Earl of Essex, his Galliard, for lute, P 89
  5. Pavan, for lute in G minor, P 18
  6. Mr Giles Hobie's Galliard, for lute, P 29
  7. I saw my lady weep, for 2 voices & lute (Second Book of Song)
  8. Sir Henry Umpton's Funerall, for lute
  9. Sir John Langton's Pavan, for lute
  10. Mr Langton's Galliard, for lute, P 33
  11. Piper's Pavan, for lute, P 8
  12. Captain Digorie Piper's Galliard, for lute, P 19
  13. Dowlands Adew for Master Cromwell, for viol & lute, P 13
  14. Galliard, for lute in G minor, P 30
  15. Mr Henry Noell his Galliard (Mignarda), for lute, P 34
  16. Lachrimae, for lute, P 15
  17. Semper Dowland semper dolens, pavan for lute, P 9

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews