Dr Chandrix Dies

Dr Chandrix Dies

by Christopher D. Abbott


Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Dr Chandrix Dies by Christopher D. Abbott

Dr Chandrix isn't a typical blackmailer. He's tricky, devious, artful, and he isn't interested in money. What he craves is knowledge and power, and he knows exactly how to get them. When Special Branch Police skilfully trap him, justice seems certain. That is until their agent disappears. The case now in ruins, they recruit a reluctant Dutch psychologist spotted in Brighton. It now falls on Dr Straay to confront this man, an old enemy, and find a way to stop him before someone else disappears...

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781500823115
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 08/12/2014
Pages: 286
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.64(d)

About the Author

Christopher D. Abbott is the award winning author of Sir Laurence Dies, Dr Chandrix Dies, and co-author of Revolting Tales (with Todd A Curry). He has a background in human behavioural studies and psychology. Having worked in IT, communications, safety and health, and sales, he gained a good understanding of people and their behaviours. Abbott is a self confessed avid reader of crime fiction, and he took creative writing courses, which fuelled his ambition to publish a character driven crime story. He loves quirky characters such as Rodney David Wingfield's Inspector "Jack" Frost, Agatha Christie's Poirot, and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes. The Idea of Dr Pieter Straay, his Dutch Criminal Psychologist, came about by integrating the qualities he admires best in these characters.

Sir Laurence Dies, the 1st book in The "Dies" Trilogy, debuted in 2013, and since then it received a 5 star review from Reader's Favorite. It made the final of Reader's Favorite 2014 book awards for the Mystery - Sleuth category.

Abbott currently live in Connecticut USA. He loves to write and play music, which is another of his passions. He enjoys cooking, hiking, reading in the sun, and is currently at school studying for a degree in psychology. He is also working on his 3rd Dr Straay novel

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dr Chandrix Dies 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
DingerCT More than 1 year ago
This was a well done mystery book, with a twist that was very surprising.  This isn't quite the same as the first book, Sir Laurence Dies. I thought this one was more clandestine than Sir Laurence. Very well done! Dinger
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Jack Magnus for Readers' Favorite Dr. Chandrix Dies is the second volume in Christopher D. Abbott's historical mystery series, The Dies Trilogy. It's set in London in 1930 and features the Dutch detective and psychologist, Doctor Pieter Straay. While it's the second volume in the series, Dr. Chandrix Dies can be read as a stand-alone novel. Doctor Straay and his colleague Colonel Arthur Davidson had been investigating Dr. Simon Chandrix, who is suspected of being a blackmailer, when Colonel Davidson disappears and Dr. Chandrix is found mutilated and murdered in the apartment of his neighbor, Lord Calegray. Chief Inspector Henry Drake and Sergeant William Hawkins are investigating the murder and have been joined by Dr. Straay at the request of Commander George Halloway of Special Branch.  Christopher D. Abbott's historical mystery, Dr. Chandrix Dies, is intricate and enjoyable. Dr. Straay will remind mystery buffs of both Agatha Christie's Belgian sleuth and Arthur Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes. The mystery is well-plotted with plenty of red herrings to keep the detectives and the reader working overtime to catch the killer. Sergeant William Hawkins, known as Hawk to his friends, is a marvelous, larger-than-life character, and he, Straay and Drake are a winning combination. Woven throughout the story are references to the first World War that add a rich dimension and texture to the plot. I love both historical mysteries and police procedurals, and Dr. Chandrix Dies admirably succeeds on both counts. I'm planning on reading the first book in this series, Sir Laurence Dies, and am looking forward to reading the final book as well.