Dragons in the Waters (O'Keefe Family Series #2)

Dragons in the Waters (O'Keefe Family Series #2)

by Madeleine L'Engle
4.7 6


$8.16 $11.99 Save 32% Current price is $8.16, Original price is $11.99. You Save 32%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, October 19 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 


Dragons in the Waters (O'Keefe Family Series #2) by Madeleine L'Engle

Thirteen-year-old Simon Renier has no idea when he boards the M.S. Orion with his cousin Forsyth Phair that their journey to Venezuela will be a dangerous one. His original plan—to return a family heirloom, a portrait of Simon Bolivar, to its rightful place—is sidetracked when cousin Forsyth is found murdered. When the portrait is stolen, all passengers and crew are suspects. Simon's newfound friends, Poly and Charles O'Keefe, and their scientist father help Simon try to find his painting, and his cousin's murderer. But will they succeed before they land? Or will the murderer and thief escape into the jungles of Venezuela?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780312674427
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication date: 12/06/2011
Series: O'Keefe Family Series , #2
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 158,342
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range: 11 - 16 Years

About the Author

Madeleine L'Engle (1918–2007) was the Newbery Medal-winning author of more than 60 books, including the much-loved A Wrinkle in Time. Born in 1918, L'Engle grew up in New York City, Switzerland, South Carolina and Massachusetts. Her father was a reporter and her mother had studied to be a pianist, and their house was always full of musicians and theater people. L'Engle graduated cum laude from Smith College, then returned to New York to work in the theater. While touring with a play, she wrote her first book, The Small Rain, originally published in 1945. She met her future husband, Hugh Franklin, when they both appeared in The Cherry Orchard.

Upon becoming Mrs. Franklin, L'Engle gave up the stage in favor of the typewriter. In the years her three children were growing up, she wrote four more novels. Hugh Franklin temporarily retired from the theater, and the family moved to western Connecticut and for ten years ran a general store. Her book Meet the Austins, an American Library Association Notable Children's Book of 1960, was based on this experience.

Her science fantasy classic A Wrinkle in Time was awarded the 1963 Newbery Medal. Two companion novels, A Wind in the Door and A Swiftly Tilting Planet (a Newbery Honor book), complete what has come to be known as The Time Trilogy, a series that continues to grow in popularity with a new generation of readers. Her 1980 book A Ring of Endless Light won the Newbery Honor. L'Engle passed away in 2007 in Litchfield, Connecticut.

Date of Birth:

January 12, 1918

Date of Death:

September 6, 2007

Place of Birth:

New York, NY

Place of Death:

Litchfield, CT


Smith College, 1941

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dragons in the Waters 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fascinating and exciting in a charming way
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book for a school Mystery project. Not a fan of the genre, I feared the task of finding a book. Then I recognized the name of the author on one of the books to choose from. I love L'engle's work, so chose to read this book. I was dissappointed at first, it was rather slow moving and dull...but then towards the middle, it really gets moving and grabs you. Hang on for the first bit of it, and you'll be rewarded!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a beautiful book full of rich characters, some familiar (the O'Keefes and Canon Tallis play important roles), and many new and memorable. Simon, who has dreams of being a hero, finds himself encountering tests of courage at every turn. L'Engle's exciting plot juxtaposes human greed and human goodness, with every act counting. Profound page-turner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author takes us on an adventure that shows how our modern ways of doing things are not the only way and not always to best way to do things. She once again bring the O'Keefe family into an adventure that keeps you tuning the pages. The only thing I wish I had done was to have read this O'Keefe Family Series 1-3 before reading AN ACCEPTABLE TIME, Book 5 of the Time Quintet. Poly is a central figure in all four books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i havent even read this book so dont take my advice on it but it looks good beacuse i absoltuelty looooooooove Madeleine L'Engle's books i could read them for hours, so im assuming that this is another of her most excellent books