by YesYes


$37.04 $38.99 Save 5% Current price is $37.04, Original price is $38.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, August 3


For this one album, ex-Buggles Geoffrey Downes and Trevor Horn were drafted in to replace Jon Anderson and Rick Wakeman. It rocks harder than other Yes albums, and for classically inclined fans, it was a jarring departure; but it was a harbinger of Yes and Asia albums to come. A newly emboldened Chris Squire lays down aggressive rhythms with Alan White, and Steve Howe eschews his usual acoustic rags and flamenco licks for a more metallic approach, opting for sheets of electric sound. Prime cuts include the doom-laden "Machine Messiah" and the manic ska inflections of "Tempus Fugit." Despite the promise of this new material, the band soon fell apart; Horn went into production, Howe and Downes joined Asia, and Squire and White toyed and then gave up on a pair-up with Robert Plant and Jimmy Page, which was to be titled XYZ (i.e., Ex-Yes and Zeppelin).

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/27/2010
Label: Wea Japan
UPC: 4943674092093
catalogNumber: 7409209
Rank: 88627


  1. Machine Messiah
  2. White Car
  3. Does It Really Happen?
  4. Into the Lens
  5. Run Through the Light
  6. Tempus Fugit
  7. Into the Lens (I Am a Camera)
  8. Run Through the Light
  9. Have We Really Got to Go Through This
  10. Song No. 4
  11. Tempus Fugi
  12. White Car
  13. Dancing Through the Light
  14. Golden Age
  15. In the Tower
  16. Friend of a Friend

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Yes   Primary Artist
Steve Howe   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Chris Squire   Bass,Piano,Group Member
Alan White   Percussion,Vocals,Group Member
Geoff Downes   Keyboards,Vocoder,Group Member
Trevor Horn   Bass,Vocals,Group Member

Technical Credits

Rick Wakeman   Composer
Jon Anderson   Composer
Steve Howe   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Chris Squire   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Yes   Arranger,Producer
Roger Dean   Art Direction,Cover Painting,Logo Design
Alan White   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Greg Allen   Layout
Geoff Downes   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Trevor Horn   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Ashley Howe   Engineer
Bill Inglot   Sound Production
Gary Langan   Engineer
David McLees   Reissue Producer
Julian Mendelsohn   Engineer
Eddy Offord   Producer
Hugh Padgham   Engineer
Pete Schwier   Engineer
Steve Woolard   Reissue Producer
Brian Ives   Liner Notes
David Clarke   Cover Photo
Kuni Takeuchi   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews