Dream Walk [Bonus Tracks]

Dream Walk [Bonus Tracks]

by Keiko Matsui
4.3 3

CD(Bonus Tracks)

$8.38 $8.99 Save 7% Current price is $8.38, Original price is $8.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, October 26 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Dream Walk [Bonus Tracks]

Taking a stroll through Keiko Matsui's musical hypnotherapy session Dream Walk is like entering a funhouse where all previous definitions of contemporary jazz are strikingly distorted, and invention walks on the wild side of East meets West. Crisp melodies have always been at the heart of the keyboardist's best work, only here they come at you as part of the mood, rather than the central theme. Only a handful of the keyboardist's tunes follow conventional linear melodic patterns throughout, and even these are so beautifully enhanced by sweeping orchestral and percussive invention that atmosphere and throbbing, raw twists ultimately win out over predictability. Equal credit for the newly aggressive approach goes to husband/producer Kazu Matsui, whose sonic wizardry surrounds Keiko's silky jazz and new age passageways with curious echoing flavors, enticing soundscapes where almost anything goes, and loose-fitting urban cool. Other out-there touches include Molly Pasutti's sweeping wordless vocals, bass samples by Marcus Miller and John Patitucci chosen over live bass, and Kazu's own shakuhachi. More typical excitement is provided by Paul Taylor's always warm soprano and alto musings. [The album was reissued with bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 07/29/2003
Label: Shout Factory
UPC: 0826663015225
catalogNumber: 30152
Rank: 76432

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Keiko Matsui   Primary Artist,Piano,Keyboards
Bernie Dresel   Percussion,Drums
Kazu Matsui   Shakuhachi
Derek Nakamoto   Synthesizer,Bass,Keyboards
Molly Pasutti   Vocals
Allen J. Astin   Mirdangam

Technical Credits

Keiko Matsui   Composer
Rob Chiarelli   drum programming
Ken Deranteriasian   Engineer
Abraham Laboriel   Bass Samples
Kazu Matsui   Producer
Marcus Miller   Bass Samples
Derek Nakamoto   Arranger,Engineer,drum programming,Rhythm Loops
Joel Stoner   Engineer
John Pattitucci   Bass Samples
Jonathan Widran   Liner Notes
Dale Voelker   Graphic Design

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews