Dreamboats & Lemonade

Dreamboats & Lemonade

by The Yearning


$20.44 $23.99 Save 15% Current price is $20.44, Original price is $23.99. You Save 15%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, September 27  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Dreamboats & Lemonade

After a couple years of releasing luminous singles and EPs that sound like soundtracks to the sweetest secondary school dances ever, the Yearning finally made a full album. Released in 2014, Dreamboats & Lemonade is orchestrated and played by Joe Moore and a small cast of like-minded musicians with vocals by the barely out of secondary school herself Maddie Dobie. Moore's aim is to take the girl group and Brill Building sounds of the '60s, dip them in sugar, dip them again for good measure, and then wrap them up in the cutest packaging imaginable. The songs are simple, the arrangements would be easy listening-approved if they weren't candied enough to happily rot even the hardiest set of teeth, and Dobie's vocals make Claudine Longet sound like a Franklin sister. Basically, rockers and tough guys need not apply, for this is music aimed at gentle souls and dreamers only. Most of the album sounds perfect for pining, melancholy daydreaming, moonlight reveries, and solitary walks in gardens. The slow ballads like "If I Can't Have You" and the sumptuous "Never Learn to Cry" especially. When the band turns up the dial on the tempo and energy controls, like on the almost peppy "Dance with Me" or "Every Time I Fall in Love," which kind of sounds like a song from a '50s Western sung by Doris Day, they make a teeny tiny bit of noise, but not enough to break the fragile spell the album casts. The Yearning aren't suitable for daily consumption, but as the occasional sweet treat, Dreamboats & Lemonade is a nice addition to an adventurous indie pop fan's menu.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/01/2014
Label: Elefant Spain
UPC: 8428846211879
catalogNumber: 1187
Rank: 297638

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Yearning   Primary Artist
Francesca Lewis   Violin
Alex Chappelow   Harmonica,Mandolin,Pedal Steel Guitar,Trombone,Electric Guitar,Ukulele
Sarah Chappelow   Flute
Miranda Lewis   Cello
Mark Kiff   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Maddie Dobie   Vocals
Zoe Illes   Cello
Martha Kiff   Saxophone
Alicia Rendle-Woodhouse   Background Vocals
Adam Bidgood   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Simon Napier-Bell   Composer
Vicki Wickham   Composer
Luis Calvo   Layout
Joe Moore   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews