Dreaming My Dreams

Dreaming My Dreams

by Waylon Jennings
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 26


Dreaming My Dreams was Waylon Jennings' first number one record, and deservedly so. He had created outlaw country with Honky Tonk Heroes, and then delivered two further albums that subtly developed its themes, even if they weren't quite as consistent. Dreaming My Dreams maintains the consistency, increasing the country quotient while subtly making it more sentimental than before. This is an unabashedly romantic album, not just in its love songs, but in its tributes to Waylon's heroes. "Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way" opens and "Bob Wills Is Still the King" closes the album -- making Jennings an heir apparent to their legacies. Between those two extremes, Waylon appropriates Jimmie Rodgers ("Waymore's Blues"), covers Roger Miller ("I've Been a Long Time Leaving [But I'll Be a Long Time Gone]"), ups the outlaw ante ("Let's All Help the Cowboys [Sing the Blues]"), and writes and records as many sentimental tunes as possible without seeming like a sissy. At times, the emotional undertow may seem a bit much, yet the whole thing adds up as Waylon's best album since Honky Tonk Heroes, and one of the few of his prime outlaw period to deliver from beginning to end.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/23/2001
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886919875027
catalogNumber: 198750
Rank: 19860


  1. Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way
  2. Waymore's Blues
  3. I Recall a Gypsy Woman
  4. High Time (You Quit Your Lowdown Ways)
  5. I've Been a Long Time Leaving (But I'll Be a Long Time Gone)
  6. Let's All Help the Cowboys (Sing the Blues)
  7. The Door Is Always Open
  8. Let's Turn Back the Years
  9. She's Looking Good
  10. Dreaming My Dreams With You
  11. Bob Wills Is Still the King
  12. All Around Cowboy
  13. Ride Me Down Easy

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews