Dreaming of Florence: The feel-good read of summer!

Dreaming of Florence: The feel-good read of summer!

by T.A. Williams

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Fresh pasta, red wine, fine art… and love? Find enchantment this year in the magical city of Florence

When Debbie Waterson’s bicycle crashes into handsome doctor Pierluigi, she wonders if her luck has changed. Determinedly single after ending a long relationship, at last, a man worth bumping into!

Inspired to visit Florence, she soon runs headlong into that old foe: reality. But is Pierluigi the man of her dreams? Then there’s her booze obsessed boss, his forbidding secretary and her noisy inconsiderate neighbours. But could her luck be about to change? Will she find love after all?

Warm-hearted and unputdownable, Dreaming of Florence is the perfect escape for readers of Holly Martin, Tilly Tennant and Jenny Oliver.

Praise for Dreaming of Florence

'Dreaming of Florence will be one of the reading highlights of 2018 for me... An engrossing, cozy and heart warming read... I wanted this book to never end ... It left me feeling relaxed, satisfied and with a smile on my face.' Consumer reviewer

'It’s fun, fresh and heart warming... Dreaming of Florence? I am now!' The Book Trail

'Such a beautiful read... You could taste the wonderful food, it was so vividly written.' Blue Yonder

'Just what I needed – a fantastic read that I thoroughly enjoyed from start to finish... be sensible and pre-order yourself a copy and get ready for a fun filled, heartwarming Italian adventure and romance.' Splashes into Books

'Why did this book have to end?... Dreaming of Florence is a fabulous book that I loved every last second of.' Rachel's Random Reads

'A really beautifully romantic and heartwarming novel. Another brilliant story by T.A. Williams.' Cosiest Corner

'A heartwarming tale of new beginnings in life and love.' Krafti Reader

'I definitely have a lighter step after indulging in the sights, sounds, scents and tastes of Italy and have no hesitation in recommending that you add this one to your collection!' Grace J Reviewer Lady

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781911591924
Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd
Publication date: 01/08/2018
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 300
Sales rank: 268,674
File size: 395 KB

About the Author

T.A. Williams lives in Devon with his Italian wife. He was born in England of a Scottish mother and Welsh father. After a degree in modern languages at Nottingham University, he lived and worked in Switzerland, France and Italy, before returning to run one of the best-known language schools in the UK. He’s taught Arab princes, Brazilian beauty queens and Italian billionaires. He speaks a number of languages and has travelled extensively. He has eaten snake, still-alive fish, and alligator. A Spanish dog, a Russian bug and a Korean parasite have done their best to eat him in return. His hobby is long-distance cycling, but his passion is writing.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dreaming of Florence: The feel-good read of summer! 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Thebooktrail-com More than 1 year ago
You know when a book comes along at just the right time? I was more than ready to go to Florence and read a fun romance when a woman on a bicycle knocks down an Italian man? I really enjoyed this read. It’s fun, fresh and heart warming and the author’s got the male-female thing down off pat! The book more than evokes the setting in all their glorious forms and I am certainly hoping to go to Florence soon. I don’t intend knocking over any one on a bike, but then if fate intervenes as it does in this book, then…..I hope he’s from Florence or somewhere equally as sunny! It’s a fun, fresh read and the author has evoked the landscape of Florence well so much so that you really feel part of the book and the story. The food, the olive oil, the aromas and the Italian -ness of it all is as delicious as that gelato. It’s a real insight and fun tour of the city and its secrets. Lovely having Pierluigi show you around and have Debbie see things through her newcomer eyes. Makes for an interesting and fun visit! Dreaming of Florence? I am now!
WhisperingStories More than 1 year ago
English teacher Debbie Waterson has had an obsession with Florence ever since missing out on a school trip to the city as a child. She often daydreams about the place, but has never visited, too scared that it won’t live up to her expectations. Whilst once again riding her bike and dreaming about basking in the Italian sun, a man steps out in front of her, knocking them both to the ground. Pierluigi, a doctor, apologies profusely and admits that it was his fault entirely. He offers to looks at her injuries, and then walks her home with her mangled bike. Debbie thinks the doctor is rather dishy, and falls for him at breakneck speed when she discovers he’s from Florence. He tells her she should go and visit the country as she won’t be disappointed. In the end she bites the bullet and goes. She is so taken aback with the city that when an offer of redundancy comes up at work she decides to go and work there, it’s now or never. This is the first book by T.A. Williams that I have read. I’ve admired his books for a long time, but with a huge TBR list I’ve never actually gotten around to reading one, until now. Open up the gorgeous cover and you will step into a delightful, heartwarming story which has been perfectly executed. The characters are a joy to spend time with, and that scenery is to die for. I’ve never been to Italy, but it felt like I was standing in the heart of Florence. T.A. Williams has in essence written a ‘Guide to Florence’ hidden within a beautiful story. Not only do you get to visit the tourist areas, but he takes you to places off the beaten track and has you tasting divine food, and sipping delicious wines. At the centre of this book is a woman who took a chance on fulfilling her dream. Debbie for so long had wanted to follow her heart, but never had the courage. When the opportunity arose, and with a little push from her best friend, she took that chance. If this book teaches you one thing, it’s to stop putting off following your dream, start living it before it’s too late.
whatsbetterthanbooks More than 1 year ago
Absorbing, enchanting and beautifully written! Dreaming of Florence is a charming, romantic story about taking chances, overcoming challenges, developing new relationships, finding happiness, and falling in love. The prose is light and incredibly atmospheric. The story is warm, engaging and full of tender moments, dramatic events, humorous hijinks, betrayals, acts of kindness, self-discovery, and friendship. And the characterization is spot on with a cast of characters that are fresh, endearing, and quirky, and a setting, the City of Lilies, that is a character itself with its Renaissance architecture, lush landscape, and must-see monuments. Overall, Dreaming of Florence is another sophisticated, sweet, entertaining tale by Williams that once again highlights his phenomenal ability to bring a city to life through his remarkable knowledge and passion for its food, culture, and history.