Dreams & Fancies: English Music for Solo Guitar

Dreams & Fancies: English Music for Solo Guitar

by Sean Shibe


$18.99 $19.99 Save 5% Current price is $18.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25


This Delphian-label release by the young Scots guitarist Sean Shibe is something of a tribute to guitar pioneer Julian Bream, who, you learn from the booklet, "inspired, performed, edited, and (most of them) performed" the four outer works on the program, by William Walton, Lennox Berkeley, Malcolm Arnold, and Benjamin Britten. Bream would also certainly have performed the three pieces by John Dowland that make up the central ent'racte, and Shibe captures his big, spacious, highly percussive style. Sample one of the ripping finales, like the last of Walton's "Five Bagatelles," a work that very cleverly incorporates Spanish guitar idioms without being a Spanish-style piece. None of these four works is exactly well known, and all are delightful. Arnold's "Fantasy for guitar, Op. 107," is a snappy little Baroque suite, one of the highly accessible works of his old age. Shibe's Dowland is enough to make you want him to do a whole album of the stuff (listen to the breathtaking, suspended-in-mid-air "Forlorn Hope Fancy"), and Britten's "Nocturnal after John Dowland, Op. 70," wraps up the whole program. Delphian errs in siting the recording at Crichton Collegiate Church in Midlothian; the music wasn't written for churches, and although they may have wished to emphasize Shibe's big dynamic range and strong attacks, the guitarist and the music can speak for themselves. Apart from this, Dreams & Fancies is an excellent collection of some 20th century guitar music that should be heard more often than it is, and an avatar of the Bream spirit.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/21/2017
Label: Delphian
UPC: 0801918341939
catalogNumber: 34193
Rank: 199721


  1. Bagatelles (5) for guitar

    1. I. Allegro  (04:12)
    2. II. Lento  (03:06)
    3. III. Alla cubana  (02:28)
    4. IV.  (01:47)
    5. V. Con slancio  (02:23)
  2. Sonatina for guitar, Op. 52/1

    1. I. Allegretto  (05:29)
    2. II. Lento  (03:59)
    3. III. Rondo. Allegro non troppo  (03:37)
  3. Preludium, for lute, P 98  (01:21)
  4. Forlorn Hope, fantasie for lute, P 2  (04:01)
  5. Fantasia, for lute (from "A Varietie of Lute-lessons")  (04:17)
  6. Fantasy for guitar, Op. 107

    1. I. Prelude  (01:21)
    2. II. Scherzo  (02:52)
    3. III. Arietta 1  (02:03)
    4. IV. Fughetta  (01:11)
    5. V. Arietta 2  (01:40)
    6. VI. March  (01:41)
    7. VII. Postlude  (01:12)
  7. Nocturnal after John Dowland, for guitar, Op. 70

    1. I. Musingly (Meditativo)  (02:15)
    2. II. Very agitated (Molto agitato)  (00:47)
    3. III. Restless (Inquieto)  (01:26)
    4. IV. Uneasy (Ansioso)  (01:21)
    5. V. March-like (Quasi una Marcia)  (01:31)
    6. VI. Dreaming (Sognante)  (01:51)
    7. VII. Gently rocking (Cullante)  (01:11)
    8. VIII. Passacaglia  (04:34)
    9. IX. Slow and quiet (Molto tranquillo)  (02:39)

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sean Shibe   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews