Dreams in the Distance

Dreams in the Distance

by Nan Rinella


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 28


Dreams in the Distance

Dreams in the Distance, Book I of THE CHOICE series: What voices influence your choices?

Make your choice, adventurous Stranger,

Strike the bell and bide the danger,

Or wonder, till it drives you mad,

What would have followed if you had?

The Magician’s Nephew, C. S. Lewis

In 1952 London and C. S. Lewis’s & J. R. R. Tolkien’s Oxford, five young people pursue their Dreams in the Distance as they choose their life paths influenced by either holy voices of inspiration or insidious voices of seduction.

Faced with your greatest choices, how do you know which one is right?

It is 1952 Britain. The war is over, but not the personal battles for beautiful Lily Whitely; brilliant Phila Claiborne; her brother, the blueblood Hugh Claiborne; the brave Ollie Ogilvie; and the beguiling Dan McCauley.

  • Lily desires a future and fame in the world of fashion.
  • Phila revels in studying at university with her literary heroes, but longs to find her Prince Charming.
  • Hugh’s deepest desire is to find the glory and honor he never realized during the war.
  • Ollie confronts his wartime demons, proceeding a new life path hoping to find happiness.
  • Dan, grounded from flying, seeks solace in humanism and the love of a woman.

But they have an enemy more insidious than they ever could have imagined, one bent on destroying their dreams – and their souls.

They find themselves tangled in a web of personal crises and deception, throughout London and Oxford, where they encounter angels, dark whispers, and choices that will change their lives forever.

Infused with the influences (and appearances) of C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien, Nan Rinella has crafted a powerful tale about the decisions we make (and where those decisions take us) that will delight readers far beyond their expectations.

Book II: Hope on the Horizon

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781733714105
Publisher: Nancy D. Rinella
Publication date: 02/14/2019
Series: Choice , #1
Pages: 300
Sales rank: 448,397
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.67(d)

Table of Contents


Prologue: The War

i. A Noble Brother

ii. A Scottish Lad

iii. A California Yankee

iv. Two Daughters

1-The Vicar's Daughter

2-The Challenge of Job

3-The Earl's Daughter

4-A Decision

5-The Chauvinist and the Feminist

6-Worldly Lures Versus Heavenly Tenets

7-Not Always Black and White

8-Beauty and the Brain

9-Unwelcome Visitors

10-The Weight of Love


12-Cinderella Hopes


14-The Bomb and Best Wishes

15-The Ball


17-In Fate's Footsteps

18-A Day Like No Other



21-The Uncle

22-Dark Dreams


24-Treasure Chest

25-Lilies and Laid to Rest

26-Between Sorrow and Sadness

27-The Memorial

28-International Incident


30-Dark Night of the Soul

31-A Fire Within

32-The Brother

33-Tea and Talk of Cold War

34-Lily in Wonderland

35-The Interview


37-Separate Paths

38-Voices of Fear


Discussion Questions


About the Author

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews