Pub. Date:
Dua Lipa [Complete Edition]

Dua Lipa [Complete Edition]

by Dua LipaDua Lipa


$15.99 $18.99 Save 16% Current price is $15.99, Original price is $18.99. You Save 16%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, October 22


With the confidence and determination of a seasoned vet, English-Albanian singer/songwriter Dua Lipa crafted a delightful collection of catchy pop gems where the songs only serve to highlight her vocal prowess. Lithe enough to avoid production overkill and containing just enough substance to nourish, Dua Lipa arrived after years of studio time and six big singles (three of which became U.K. Top 40 hits). The album is front-loaded with those highlights, creating a rush of dancefloor intensity with "Hotter Than Hell," "Be the One," "Blow Your Mind (Mwah)," and the duet with Miguel, "Lost in Your Light." The second half of the LP shines an extra spotlight on Lipa's voice, which, to some extent, can echo the control and power of Adele and Sia. "Garden" is a sweeping, soulful number that does just that, combining the dramatics of a slow-burning Sia ballad with Adele's delivery. "No Goodbyes" is another emotional journey, one of the handful of absolutely yearning and pained confessions from Lipa's broken heart. The acoustic R&B "Thinking 'Bout You" smolders, a lovelorn lament that finds Lipa exhausting her chemical outlets in an attempt to forget a past romance. In a similar vein, "New Rules" is all house-inflected shine, a cautionary list that cleverly warns "if you're under him, you're not over him." In addition to Miguel, a pair of other guests contribute additional highlights. The MNEK-produced kiss-off "IDGAF" is a cheeky, Ed Sheeran-esque singalong that provides a perfect anthem for anyone who has ever been burned by love. "Homesick" -- written by Chris Martin -- could be a direct sequel to Coldplay's 2016 single "Everglow." The delicate ballad reveals Lipa's vulnerability and softness, the defenses of studio production stripped away, leaving only Lipa, Martin, and a twinkling piano. Such exposure isn't found elsewhere on the album, which is mostly concerned with self-empowerment and Lipa's refreshingly defiant attitude. It's moments like this one that strike such a satisfying balance on Dua Lipa, an excellent first effort from a budding pop star. [In 2018, after a whirlwind rise to the top of the pop ranks, Dua Lipa issued a Complete Edition of her breakthrough debut, pairing the Deluxe Edition of the album -- which added the bonus B-sides "Dreams," "Room for 2," "New Love," "Bad Together," and "Last Dance" -- with a second disc of non-album extras and hits, including collaborations with Sean Paul ("No Lie"), Martin Garrix ("Scared to Be Lonely"), Silk City ("Electricity"), K-pop stars BlackPink ("Kiss and Make Up"), and Calvin Harris (the chart-topping "One Kiss").] ~ Neil Z. Yeung

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/19/2018
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 0190295559489
catalogNumber: 574762
Rank: 6538


Disc 1

  1. Genesis
  2. Lost in Your Light
  3. Hotter Than Hell
  4. Be the One
  5. IDGAF
  6. Blow Your Mind (Mwah)
  7. Garden
  8. No Goodbyes
  9. Thinking 'Bout You
  10. New Rules
  11. Begging
  12. Homesick
  13. Dreams
  14. Room For 2
  15. New Love
  16. Bad Together
  17. Last Dance

Disc 2

  1. Want To
  2. Running
  3. Kiss and Make Up
  4. One Kiss
  5. Electricity
  6. Scared to Be Lonely
  7. No Lie
  8. New Rules

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dua Lipa   Primary Artist,Bass,Percussion,Drums,Vocals,Background Vocals
Rick Nowels   Electric Guitar,Keyboards
Greg Wells   Synthesizer,Bass,Piano,Drums
Jay Reynolds   Keyboards
Mighty Mike   Drums
Jon Levine   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards,fender rhodes
Andrew Wyatt   Piano
Chris Martin   Piano,Vocals
Zac Rae   Synthesizer,Piano
Sean Paul Henriques   Vocals
Tom Neville   Keyboards
Frank VanEssen   Violin
Todd Clark   Background Vocals
Dean Reid   Synthesizer,Guitar,Percussion,Keyboards
William Bowerman   Drums
Adam Argyle   Guitar
Kai Smith   Guitar,Keyboards
Ben Kohn   Guitar
Matthew Carroll   Bass Guitar,Keyboards
Talay Riley   Background Vocals
Cara Salimando   Background Vocals
Stephen Kozmeniuk   Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Piano,Drums,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Synthaxe
Jack Tarrant   Guitar
Lucy Taylor   Background Vocals
Andreas Schüller   Percussion,Keyboards
MNEK   Background Vocals
James Flannigan   Synthesizer,Percussion,Piano,Drums
Yannick Rastogi   Synthesizer,Bass,Drums,Keyboards
Chelcee Grimes   Background Vocals
Grades   Drums,Keyboards
Leroy Clampitt   Guitar
Matt Vlahovich   Keyboards
Zacharie Raymond   Synthesizer,Bass,Drums,Keyboards

Technical Credits

Lauren Christy   Composer
Andrew Jackson   Composer
Greg Wells   Composer,Producer
Tom Barnes   Composer
Jay Reynolds   Additional Production
Paul Bailey   Engineer
Jon Levine   Composer,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Silk City   Producer
Andrew Wyatt   Composer,Producer
Lindy Robbins   Composer
Marc Vincent   Composer
Chris Martin   Composer
Sean Paul Henriques   Composer
Riton   Additional Production
Mark Ronson   Composer,Programming,Instrumentation
Kieron Menzies   Engineer
ADP   Programming,Producer
Tom Neville   Composer,Vocal Producer
Frank VanEssen   Arranger
Sarah Hudson   Composer
Giorgio Tuinfort   Composer,Producer
Dean Reid   Engineer
William Bowerman   Arranger,Producer,Musical Director
Autumn Rowe   Composer
Adam Argyle   Composer
Calvin Harris   Producer
Gerard O'Connell   Composer
Valley Girl   Producer
Alex Metric   Additional Production
Chris Galland   Engineer
Ian Kirkpatrick   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Vocal Producer
Romy Madley Croft   Composer
Emile Haynie   Composer,Producer
Emily Warren   Composer
Dan Traynor   Composer
Adam Midgley   Composer
Ilsey Juber   Composer
Ben Kohn   Composer
Diana Gordon   Composer
Blender   Additional Production
Talay Riley   Composer
Bill Rahko   Producer,Engineer
Richard W. Nowels   Composer
Jacob Olofsson   Composer
Cara Salimando   Composer
Adam Wiles   Composer
Philip Meckseper   Composer,Programming,Instrumentation
Thomas Wesley Pentz   Composer,Programming,Instrumentation
Peter Kelleher   Composer
Stephen Kozmeniuk   Composer,Programming,Producer,drum programming,Additional Production
Miguel   Composer
Jack Tarrant   Composer,Vocal Producer
Sermstyle   Producer
Lucy Taylor   Composer
Suzy Shinn   Vocal Producer
Andreas Schüller   Composer
Tommy Baxter   Composer
Clarence Coffee   Composer
Kyle Shearer   Composer
MNEK   Composer
Trevor Yasuda   Engineer
Jamie Sanderson   Composer
Joel Peters   Engineer
James Flannigan   Composer,Programming,Producer,drum programming
Axident   Producer
Yannick Rastogi   Composer,Programming
Cameron Gower-Poole   Engineer,Vocal Producer
Picard Brothers   Additional Production
Skyler Stonestreet   Composer
Caroline Ailin   Composer
Chelcee Grimes   Composer
Martijn Garritsen   Composer
Grades   Programming,Producer,Vocal Engineer
Clement Picard   Composer
Maxime Picard   Composer
Gabe Simon   Composer
Mathieu Jomphe Lépine   Composer
Teddy Park   Composer
Lorna Blackwood   Producer,Vocal Producer
Georgia Ku   Composer
Amish Dilipkumar Patel   Composer
Digital Farm Animals   Producer
Rami Dawod   Composer
Dua Lipa   Composer
Big Taste   Additional Production
Zacharie Raymond   Composer,Programming
Sean Douglas   Composer
Jessie Reyez   Composer
Nathaniel Campany   Composer
Banx & Ranx   Producer
Pip Kembo   Composer,Producer
Larzz Principato   Composer
Whiskey Waters   Composer
Chris Garcia   Engineer
Will Nicholson   Engineer
Martin Garriz   Producer
Boa Lips   Composer

Customer Reviews