Pub. Date:
Dubstep and Trap Magic: A 5-Hour Collection

Dubstep and Trap Magic: A 5-Hour Collection


$16.21 $18.99 Save 15% Current price is $16.21, Original price is $18.99. You Save 15%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, October 1


They may have focused on goth rock and industrial music when they launched, but Cleopatra Records are also masters of jumping on the bandwagon when it comes to dance music, able to cobble together massive box sets at a moment's notice while avoiding all the leading names in any given genre. Therefore, this five-hour slab of dubstep and trap pummels the speakers with no Diplo, Deadmau5, Skrillex, or Baauer to be heard, but Cleopatra's love of camp and guilty pleasures shines bright as Sisqó's "Thong Song" and Bob Marley's "Sun Is Shining" get their pumped-up remixes. One assumes the label's office is filled with giggling Rocky Horror extras as fiendishly fun numbers like the "Super Mario Bros" video game theme and the "Cantina Band" music from Star Wars get their unlicensed remix redos, but covering "Royals" "in the style" of Lorde is bottom-barrel stuff, meaning rave kids and rave kids at heart are better off right-clicking some Internet whiz's bootleg remix. The campy covers are surrounded with lesser -- but mostly good to quite good -- numbers from the likes of you've-never-heard-of-them, save the opening "Splinter" by Savant, which is an excellent example of the nerdy subgenre complextro, where complex, glitchy melodies meet electro beats. Listen close, or you might miss a trap track from prog rock legends Nektar, who are somehow part of this all. Dub in, trap on, and camp out.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/01/2014
Label: Cleopatra
UPC: 0741157175622
catalogNumber: 1756
Rank: 84220


Disc 1

  1. Splinter
  2. The Bass is Sick
  3. Royals
  4. Thong Song
  5. Countin’
  6. Sail
  7. Get ‘Em
  8. Super Mario Bros
  9. On the Level
  10. Animal Love
  11. Simmerdown
  12. Pompeii
  13. Creep
  14. S.T.F.U.
  15. Sucka Punched
  16. Total Recall
  17. Biological
  18. Jungle Attack

Disc 2

  1. Cha Cha Slide
  2. Dubstep Drops Laugh
  3. Rago
  4. Remember the Future
  5. Let’S Party
  6. Cantina Band
  7. Vip Birds
  8. What If
  9. Erupt
  10. Big Sky Mountain
  11. Insurgency
  12. Dial Tone Glitch
  13. Fat Bass Charlie
  14. The Gaiking Party
  15. Shake It
  16. Android Lesbian Lover
  17. Snow Crush
  18. Super Human

Disc 3

  1. Hold Me Fast
  2. Mirrorball
  3. Grill Em
  4. So Hot
  5. Megaton Disaster
  6. Electric Roulette
  7. Wobble In My Speakers
  8. Funk In Your Pants
  9. Alien Lover
  10. Let's Get Loose
  11. New Girl
  12. Take That Trip
  13. Mad Dream
  14. Life On Mars
  15. Shotgun
  16. Don’T You Follow Me
  17. Skyfall Speed
  18. Attack

Disc 4

  1. What U Gonna Do
  2. Sun is Shining
  3. The Freaks Come Out Tonight
  4. Party Up
  5. Pop Off (Trvp)
  6. Drop Bass (Not Bombs)
  7. Bass Monster
  8. Glow
  9. Booom Booom Booom
  10. OG's Be Slippin’
  11. Slumlords
  12. My Style Be the Worst
  13. The Rim Geaper Trvp’s Tonight
  14. My Floemaster
  15. Limp Dixx Dude
  16. Arnold the Destroyer
  17. My Simple Beat
  18. Beat Real Loud
  19. Signs & Grimes

Album Credits

Customer Reviews