DVD (Wide Screen)

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


101 Reykjavik

A slacker finds himself dealing with girl trouble he never knew existed in this offbeat comedy set in Iceland. Hlynur (Hilmir Snær Gudnason) is a 28-year-old layabout who lives with his mother, Berglind (Hanna María Karlsdóttir), in a run-down section of Reykjavík. Though he doesn't have a job, Hlynur makes enough off the dole to spend his evenings drinking beer, and has a girlfriend, Hofi (Thrúdur Vilhjálmdóttir), who regards his lack of ambition with a mildly annoyed tolerance. Berglind decides to take in a boarder, Lola Milagros (Victoria Abril), a lovely young woman from Spain who gives dance lessons. Hlynur is instantly captivated with Lola and begins making a play for her, even though she's an open and unapologetic lesbian. In the midst of a drunken New Year's Eve party, Hlynur wears down Lola's resistance, and the two ring in the new year having sex. Lola soon discovers she's pregnant, but Hlynur is startled to learn that Lola and Berglind are now lovers and they intend to raise the child together -- meaning he's not only competing with his mother for the same woman, but that his child will be brought up as his sibling. As if this weren't enough, Hlynur soon learns that Hofi is also carrying his child. 101 Reykjavík was the debut feature from writer/director Baltasar Kormákur, and received an enthusiastic reception at the 2000 Locarno Film Festival.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/15/2003
UPC: 0720917536620
Original Release: 2000
Rating: NR
Source: Fox Lorber
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:30:00

Special Features

16:9 anamorphic presentation; 5.1 Mix; Filmographies; Trailer gallery; Subtitle control

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Life in Rerun [2:54]
2. Daily Grind [4:46]
3. House Guest [1:11]
4. Second Home [4:33]
5. Relative Information [2:47]
6. Shopping Spree [3:36]
7. Quality Time [5:33]
8. Local Flavor [2:48]
9. Center of the Universe [3:31]
10. Resolutions [5:27]
11. Rude Awakening [4:19]
12. Honest Opinions [4:03]
13. Irregular Behavior [4:09]
14. Life Support [2:15]
15. Harsh Reality [4:33]
16. Something to Talk About [4:27]
17. One Too Many [3:16]
18. Facing the Truth [4:32]
19. Children of Nature [3:02]
20. Friendly Advice [1:31]
21. Human Relations [2:45]
22. Passing Thoughts [3:49]
23. Everything Just Is [1:59]
24. End Credits [2:40]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

101 Reykjavik 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago