Alien Boy: The Life and Death of James Chasse

Alien Boy: The Life and Death of James Chasse

DVD (Color / Wide Screen)

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Alien Boy: The Life and Death of James Chasse

Director Brian Lindstrom employs interviews, archival footage, and videotaped depositions to tell the tragic story of James Chasse, and once promising artist from Portland, Oregon whose lifelong battle with schizophrenia was cut tragically short when he was brutalized to death by a group of local police officers. Despite the policemen's best attempts to convince witnesses that Chasse was a homeless drug dealer, those who had lived in the community for their entire lives knew the truth - that the man who died in police custody after suffering 16 broken ribs and a punctured lung was a troubled yet gentle soul who had likely committed no crime. An inspired writer, artist, and musician, Chasse had been an integral part of the Portland punk rock scene before the onset of severe schizophrenia. In the years that followed, Chasse waged a valiant struggle to live independently. Later, in the aftermath of Chasse's shocking death, his family hits a series of frustrating road blocks while fighting to hold the policeman who killed him accountable for their actions.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/25/2014
UPC: 0857965003894
Original Release: 2013
Rating: NR
Source: Breaking Glass
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen, Color]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:32:00

Special Features

Closed Caption; Reactions to Alien Boy; Interview with Director Brian Lindstrom; Profiles in courage

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Alien Boy: The Life and Death of James Chaase
1. Christmas Card [1:55]
2. Alien Boy [1:39]
3. Childhood [2:11]
4. I Like Your Organism [4:53]
5. Having Sex & Eating Yogurt [4:53]
6. I'm Called James Where I Stay [5:14]
7. He Needed To Be Hospitalized [4:15]
8. Sheer Terror In His Face [5:40]
9. Twenty-Six Breaks To Sixteen Ribs [5:38]
10. Use Of Force Is Not Pretty [6:06]
11. It Looks To Me Like Crack Cocaine [12:05]
12. No Code 3 [7:18]
13. Reality Is My Only Foe [5:00]
14. Review Faults Portland Cops [6:59]
15. Heartfelt Apology [8:00]
16. A Big Hole In My Life [4:13]
17. Credits [4:00]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews