America, America

America, America

DVD (Wide Screen / Subtitled)

$18.97 $19.99 Save 5% Current price is $18.97, Original price is $19.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, September 26  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan.  See Details


America, America

Filmmaker Elia Kazan based America, America on the early life of his Greek-immigrant uncle. Stavros Topouzoglow is the young immigrant, whose starry-eyed impressions of America are soon compromised by reality. Despite the casual cruelties, betrayals, and career setbacks, Stavros forms strong and lasting friendships which help him weather the worst. An Oscar went to the painstakingly accurate art direction of Gene Callahan. Despite moments that are not suitable for children, America, America won a rare "bell-ringer" rating from the high-school oriented Scholastic magazines back in 1963; in the years since, it has become a stalwart of the American Movie Classics cable service.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/08/2011
UPC: 0883929158256
Original Release: 1963
Rating: NR
Source: Warner Home Video
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 2:48:00
Sales rank: 33,689

Special Features

Commentary by historian Foster Hirsch

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Stathis Giallelis Stavros Topouzoglou
Frank Wolff Vartan Damadian
Harry Davis Isaac Topouzoglou
Elena Karam Vasso Topouzoglou
Linda Marsh Thomna Sinnikoglou
Estelle Hemsley Grandmother Topouzoglou
Paul Mann Aleko Sinnikoglou
Lou Antonio Abdul
Gregory Rozakis Hohanness Gardashian
Salem Ludwig Odysseus Topouzoglou
John Marley Garabet
Joanna Frank Vartuhi
Robert H. Harris Aratoon Kebabian
Katherine Balfour Sophia Kebabian

Technical Credits
Elia Kazan Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Dede Allen Editor
Gene Callahan Production Designer
Manos Hadjidakis Score Composer
Anna Hill Johnstone Costumes/Costume Designer
Haskell Wexler Cinematographer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- America, America
1. Subject People [3:02]
2. Lesson to Be Taught [5:26]
3. Under Attack [8:43]
4. The Way It Is Here [4:12]
5. Last Hopes [6:51]
6. Everything of Value [5:53]
7. Family Farewell [4:37]
8. Brothers of the Road [5:00]
9. Missed Fortune [7:30]
10. Breaking Point [7:13]
11. Constantinople [4:43]
12. Big Plans [8:22]
13. Big Money - Gone [7:30]
14. Anarchist to Dead Man [7:29]
15. The Groom-to-Be [6:38]
16. Familiar Footwear [2:59]
17. As the Years Pass [1:16]
18. Thomna's Dream [8:21]
19. The Kebabians [12:09]
20. Mutual Understanding [4:07]
21. Clean Break [7:38]
22. Outward Bound [4:02]
23. Confrontation [4:16]
24. Starting All Over [6:04]
25. Last Dance [3:21]
26. Joe Arness [9:46]
27. People Waiting [5:16]
28. End Credits [3:01]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews