Jeff Daniels
Director: Frank Marshall Cast: Jeff Daniels
Jeff Daniels
, Harley Jane Kozak
Harley Jane Kozak
, John Goodman
John Goodman
Frank Marshall

DVD (Wide Screen / Dolby 5.1 / Stereo)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


It's most people's worst fears realized in the eight-legged horror-comedy Arachnophobia. Featured in a 1.85:1 non-anamorphic widescreen transfer, this picture looks fairly well-produced, though sports a softness that sometimes hurts the image. While it's frustrating that this movie wasn't given an anamorphic transfer, at least there is a minimal amount of grain, edge enhancement, and shimmer in the picture. Overall, the colors are very vibrant and the black levels solid and even. The audio is presented in Dolby Digital 5.1 in English. This is a well-mixed 5.1 soundtrack that utilizes directional effects on many occasions, though the bulk of the soundtrack usually comes from the front and center speakers. All aspects of the dialogue, effects, and music are clear of any excessive distortion or hiss. Also included on this disc are English captions. The only extra features to be found on this disc include a very short production featurette with a few scant interviews by the cast and crew, a theatrical trailer for the film, and some recommendations for other movie titles the viewer might enjoy.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/15/1999
UPC: 0717951002129
Original Release: 1990
Rating: PG-13
Source: Walt Disney Video
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital, stereo]
Time: 1:50:00
Sales rank: 1,534

Special Features

Widescreen edition; Dolby Digital 5.1 audio; Production featurette; Theatrical trailer; Chapter search

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Jeff Daniels Dr. Ross Jennings
Harley Jane Kozak Molly Jennings
John Goodman Delbert McClintock
Julian Sands Dr. James Atherton
Stuart Pankin Sheriff Parsons
Brian McNamara Chris Collins
Mark L. Taylor Jerry Manley
Henry Jones Dr. Sam Metcalf
Peter Jason Henry Beechwood
James Handy Milton Briggs
Roy Brocksmith Irv Kendall
Kathy Kinney Blaire Kendall
Mary Carver Margaret Hollins
Brandy Brandy Beechwood
Mike Fenton Actor
Valorie Massalas Actor
Judy Taylor Actor
Terese del Piero Mom
Robert "Bobby Z" Zajonc Reserve pilot
Marlene Katz Shelley Jennings
Jane Marla Robbins Edna Beechwood
Theo Schwartz Bunny Beechwood
Cori Wellins Becky Beechwood
Chance Boyer Bobby Beechwood
Frances Bay Evelyn Metcalf
Lois de Banzie Henrietta Manley
Warren Rice Dick Manley
Robert Frank Telfer Mayor Bob
Michael Steve Jones Irv's Assistant
Fiona Walsh Little Girl
Nathaniel Spitzley Todd Miller
Jay Scorpio Mover
Mai-Lis Kuniholm Girl Friend
Garette Ratliff Henson Tommy Jennings

Technical Credits
Frank Marshall Director,Executive Producer
William S. Beasley Associate Producer
James D. Bissell Production Designer
Jimmy Buffett Songwriter
Christopher Burian-Mohr Art Director
Dee Campbell Costumes/Costume Designer
Jackie Carr Set Decoration/Design
Robert W. Cort Producer
Ted Field Producer
Eric Goldstein Camera Operator
Don Jakoby Co-producer,Screenwriter
Trevor Jones Score Composer
Ronald Judkins Sound/Sound Designer
Michael Kahn Editor
Tom Kelly Songwriter
Kathleen Kennedy Co-producer
Chuck Kristensen Consultant/advisor
Steven Kutcher Consultant/advisor
Matt Sweeney Special Effects
James McCoy Makeup
Pat Metheny Songwriter
Jennifer Parsons Costumes/Costume Designer
Arnold Peterson Consultant/advisor
David Quaschnick Makeup
Mikael Salomon Cinematographer
Steven Spielberg Executive Producer
Billy Steinberg Songwriter
Carl Stensel Set Decoration/Design
Wesley Strick Screenwriter
Richard Vane Co-producer
Chris Walas Special Effects
Chuck Waters Stunts

Scene Index

Side #1
0. Chapter Selection
1. Program Start [:12]
2. Opening Credits [17:10]
3. Welcome To Canaima [19:19]
4. Margaret Throws A Party [21:16]
5. The New Town Doctor [15:02]
6. Searching The House [13:07]
7. The Jennings' Barn [5:15]
8. The Showdown [12:07]
9. End Credits [5:51]

Customer Reviews