View All Available Formats & Editions


A relationship between two brothers literally becomes a matter of life and death in this drama from writer, director and actor Edward Burns. Francis Sullivan (Burns) was a street-wise thug with ties to the Irish mob until his younger brother Sean (Elijah Wood) was killed on Ash Wednesday in 1980 while trying to protect Francis from gangsters who were out to kill him. Three years later, Francis is a law-abiding man who is trying to stay on the straight and narrow and keep his eye on Grace (Rosario Dawson), Sean's widow. However, rumors have begun to circulate that Sean's death was just a ruse fabricated by Francis and a sympathetic priest, Father Mahoney (James Handy), to get mobster Moran (Oliver Platt) off Sean's back. Some people have spotted someone who looks a lot like Sean wandering around the neighborhood, and Moran, who doesn't forget a grudge, begins scouring the neighborhood in search of Sean, while Francis has worries of his own about Sean, since his relationship with Grace has started to move beyond simple family friendship.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/06/2010
UPC: 0687797320797
Original Release: 2002
Rating: R
Source: Alchemy / Millennium
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:00:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Edward Burns Francis Sullivan
Elijah Wood Sean Sullivan
Rosario Dawson Grace Quinonez
Oliver Platt Moran
Pat McNamara Murph
James Handy Father Mahoney
Michael Mulheren Detective Pulaski
Malachy McCourt Whitey
Julie Hale Maggie Shea

Technical Credits
Edward Burns Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Glen Basner Executive Producer
Susan Block Production Designer
Margot Bridger Producer
Ali Farrell Casting
Russell Fine Cinematographer
David Greenwald Editor
Caroline Kaplan Executive Producer
Aaron Lubin Co-producer
Tracy McKnight Musical Direction/Supervision
Laura Rosenthal Casting
Jonathan Sehring Executive Producer
Lucio Seixas Art Director
David Shire Score Composer
Jerry Stein Sound/Sound Designer
Carrie Stewart Set Decoration/Design
Catherine Marie Thomas Costumes/Costume Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Ash Wednesday
1. Main Titles [6:00]
2. The Only Brother [10:05]
3. Thou Art Dust [10:56]
4. Laying Low [8:45]
5. Reappearance [8:47]
6. Unnecessary Turmoil [11:29]
7. Over Your Shoulder [9:21]
8. Questions [9:13]
9. Farm Life [9:55]
10. Reunion [4:11]
11. Disposal [6:06]
12. End Credits [3:21]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews