Pub. Date:
Assignment in Brittany

Assignment in Brittany

Jean-Pierre Aumont
Director: Jack Conway Cast: Jean-Pierre Aumont
Jean-Pierre Aumont
, Susan Peters
Susan Peters
, Richard Whorf
Richard Whorf
Jack Conway

DVD (Full Frame)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, September 29


Jean-Pierre Aumont (billed simply as Pierre Aumont) makes his American film debut in Assignment in Brittany. Set during WW2, the film casts Aumont as Free French captain Metard, who bears a remarkable resemblance to Bertrand Conlay, a prisoner of the Allies whom is suspected of being a fifth columnist. Posing as Conlay, Metard gains the confidence of the Nazi occupiers of Brittany. He plays his part to the hilt, even unto romancing Conlay's patriotic girlfriend Anne Pinot (Susan Peters). This being a standard-issue "underground" melodrama, the film ends with a life-and-death contretemps with the Nazis, excitingly staged by director Jack Conway. Assignment in Brittany is based on the best-selling novel by Helen Macinnes.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/15/2019
UPC: 0883929667826
Original Release: 1943
Rating: NR
Source: Warner Archives
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 1:38:00
Sales rank: 43,349

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Jean-Pierre Aumont Capt. Metard
Susan Peters Anne Pinot
Richard Whorf Kerenor
Margaret Wycherly Mme. Corlay
Signe Hasso Elise
Reginald Owen Col. Trane
John Emery Capt. Deichgraber
George Coulouris Capt. Holz
Sarah Padden Albertine
Miles Mander Col. Fournier
Darryl Hickman Etienne
Peter Lawford Bit Part

Technical Credits
Jack Conway Director
Lennie Hayton Score Composer
Howard Emmet Rogers Screenwriter
Charles Rosher Cinematographer
J. Walter Ruben Producer
Frank Sullivan Editor
Anthony Veiller Screenwriter
William H. Wright Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Assignment in Brittany
1. Chapter 1 [8:17]
2. Chapter 2 [7:42]
3. Chapter 3 [8:29]
4. Chapter 4 [8:33]
5. Chapter 5 [9:06]
6. Chapter 6 [7:27]
7. Chapter 7 [7:05]
8. Chapter 8 [8:03]
9. Chapter 9 [7:46]
10. Chapter 10 [9:14]
11. Chapter 11 [7:24]
12. Chapter 12 [6:22]
13. Chapter 13 [:07]

Customer Reviews