August the First

August the First

DVD (Colorized)

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


August the First

First-time director Lanre Olabisi's relentless and devastating family drama August the First observes the calamities that erupt for the deeply dysfunctional Ibirinde clan, when they gather to celebrate son Tunde's high school graduation. Matters in the household are already problematic enough - Rhonda, the mother, slips headfirst into alcoholism; Simisola, Tunde's older sister, distances herself emotionally; and Ade, the oldest son, bombards Tunde with a relentless barrage of criticisms - but the arrival of long-estranged father Dipo is what truly ignites the powder keg. As the night unfurls, Dipo's most unwelcome appearance unveils long-buried hidden agendas and dark, twisted secrets from the past that ultimately tear the Ibirinde family to shreds. Ian Alsup, D. Rubin Green and Joy Merriweather co-star; Olabisi co-authored the script with Shawn Alexander.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/24/2008
UPC: 0616892956327
Original Release: 2007
Rating: NR
Source: Film Movement
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Colorized]
Time: 1:21:00

Special Features

Closed Caption

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Ian Alsup Tunde
D. Rubin Green Dipo
Joy Merriweather Rhonda
Kerisse Hutchinson Simisola
Sean Phillips Ade
Gloria Sauve Actor
Monique Gramby Actor
Robert G. Mckay Actor
A. Toni Sterrett Elsa
Erik Casanova Actor
Geronimo Frias Actor

Technical Credits
Lanre Olabisi Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Nicky Arezu Akmal Producer
Shawn Alexander Producer,Screenwriter
Myrna Alexander Associate Producer
Heather Corbett Art Director
Valerie Esposito Associate Producer
Mary Glen Fredrickson Costumes/Costume Designer,Production Designer
Larry Hillier Cinematographer
Alex Kopit Editor
Nicholas Langholff Asst. Director
Antonio Moncada Sound/Sound Designer
Gail Olabisi Executive Producer
Gabriel "Swede" Sedgwick Producer
A. Toni Sterrett Co-producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- August the First
1. Graduation Party [6:37]
2. Big Surprise [7:12]
3. Taking a Walk [6:31]
4. Don't Trust Him [8:01]
5. Assistance [6:53]
6. Proper Introduction [6:05]
7. Briefcase [7:46]
8. Making a Scene [7:59]
9. Gather Round [7:01]
10. Ulterior Motives [8:36]
11. Get Out [3:20]
12. Credits [4:56]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews