Beavis and Butt-head, Vol. 1: The Mike Judge Collection

Beavis and Butt-head, Vol. 1: The Mike Judge Collection

Mike Judge
 Cast: Mike Judge

DVD (Full Frame)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, August 3


After years of piecemeal DVDs housing a few episodes per disc, Beavis & Butt-Head finally received a creator-approved treatment on disc with this 3-DVD set from Paramount. Surprisingly, Beavis & Butt-Head: The Mike Judge Collection Vol. 1 turns out to be a mixed blessing. Video and audio quality are fine for what the show is: Beavis & Butt-Head was made quickly and "on the cheap," so it was never designed to look pristine. Everything included here looks fine and sounds decent (in fact, the old stereo mixes sound surprisingly crisp). The only problem with the episodes is that a good portion of them have been re-edited by show creator Mike Judge, losing lines, gags, and in some cases, entire minutes of footage. Thus, these re-edited episodes essentially rewrite history and do not present an honest representation of what viewers saw during the show's original MTV run. This after-the-fact editing is unfortunate because the un-doctored episodes show that the program holds up pretty well. Beavis & Butt-Head: The Mike Judge Collection Vol. 1 fares better in the area of extras. The third disc is devoted entirely to bonus features: first up is a series of 11 music videos that feature Beavis and Butt-Head riffing over them. The disc also offers a series of appearances the duo made on MTV, including appearances at the VMA awards and a Thanksgiving special with Kurt Loder. However, the best of the extras is "The Taint of Greatness, Part 1," a comprehensive featurette that covers the show's beginnings and includes new interviews with Judge and the many others who worked on the show. It's funny, fast-paced and full of nice surprises like footage of the show's original test screenings and readings of angry letters from irate viewers. Ultimately, Beavis & Butt-Head: The Mike Judge Collection, Vol. 1 is a decent value and offers some fun extras but the re-editing of several episodes is likely to rub its target audience the wrong way. As a result, they might want to check this set out before they commit to buying it.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/08/2005
UPC: 0097368817449
Original Release: 0000
Rating: NR
Source: Mtv
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 3:34:00
Sales rank: 27,919

Special Features

40 cartoons hand-picked by Mike Judge, including 23 director's cuts; 11 music videos inter-cut with classic Beavis and Butt-head commentary; "Taint of Greatness: The Journey of Beavis and Butt-head, Part 1" featurette; The Beavis and Butt-head Thanksgiving Special with Kurt Loder; Beavis and Butt-head video music awards appearances; an interactive link to Mike Judge and Don Hertzfeldt's The Animation Show website; Beavis and Butt-head promos; "Terms of Endearment" and "Greatest Hits" montages.

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Mike Judge Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Beavis and Butt-Head: The Mike Judge Collection, Vol. 1
1. No Laughing [6:03]
1. Home Improvement [2:49]
1. Lawn and Garden [4:48]
1. Washing the Dog [5:51]
1. The Crush [5:00]
1. Plate Frisbee [4:42]
1. Most Wanted [8:08]
1. They're Coming to Take Me Away, Huh Huh [5:13]
1. Patients, Patients [5:53]
1. Blackout! [6:52]
1. Rabies Scare [5:26]
1. 1-900-Beavis [5:26]
1. Madame Blavatsky [5:28]
1. Late Night With Butt-Head [4:28]
1. Pool Toys [5:16]
1. The Final Judgement of Beavis [5:58]
1. Right On [5:02]
1. Date Bait [4:51]
1. Butt Is It Art? [5:19]
1. Figure Drawing [4:41]
Disc #2 -- Beavis and Butt-Head: The Mike Judge Collection, Vol. 1
1. Mr. Anderson's Balls [5:43]
1. Teen Talk [5:41]
1. Manners Suck [4:57]
1. The Pipe of Doom [5:34]
1. Safe Driving [5:20]
1. Liar! Liar! [4:58]
1. Generation in Crisis [5:32]
1. The Vending Machine [5:44]
1. Radio Sweethearts [5:40]
1. The Great Cornholio [6:54]
1. Held Back [5:25]
1. Choke [5:32]
1. Killing Time [5:25]
1. Safe House [5:00]
1. Dude, a Reward [5:14]
1. Walkathon [5:17]
1. Temporary Insanity [4:56]
1. Tainted Meat [5:11]
1. Dream On [4:26]
1. Beaverly Buttbillies [5:06]

Customer Reviews