Behind the Burly Q

Behind the Burly Q

Alan Alda
Director: Leslie Zemeckis Cast: Alan Alda
Alan Alda
, Renny von Muchow
Renny von Muchow
, Dorothy von Muchow
Dorothy von Muchow
Leslie Zemeckis

DVD (Wide Screen)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, January 25


In the days before hardcore pornography attained mainstream accessibility in America, a more docile and suggestive form of adult entertainment proliferated in and around big cities, especially Manhattan: the classic burlesque show. Populated by musicians, comedians, and strippers, and cloaked in an overarching gaudiness, "burly" shows typically cost a dime for a single admission. Especially during difficult eras such as the Great Depression, the shows enabled male attendees to temporarily cast their troubles aside. As helmed by Leslie Zemeckis (documentarist wife of Robert Zemeckis), this chronicle examines the burly tradition by interviewing authors, historians, and burlesque participants including former strippers, comedians, and novelty acts. Taken together, the personal reminiscences not only reflect a broad spectrum of emotions, from triumph to tragedy, but add up to a historical chronicle of a unusual, now-extinct subculture that will remain forever tied to the early to mid-20th century.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/12/2011
UPC: 0720229914628
Original Release: 2010
Rating: NR
Source: First Run Features
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:38:00
Sales rank: 66,095

Special Features

Three featurettes: The Reunion; Memorabilia & Costumes; Behind the Scenes; Bonus interviews; Burlesque timeline; Photo gallery; Original theatrical trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Alan Alda Participant
Renny von Muchow Participant
Dorothy von Muchow Participant
John Perilli Participant
Joan Arline Participant
Nat Bodian Participant
Harry Lloyd Participant
Lorraine Lee Participant
Taffy O'Neill Participant
Joni Taylor Participant
Mike Iannucci Participant
Rachel Schteir Participant
Sunny Dare Participant
White Fury Participant
Kelly DiNardo Participant
Janet Davis Participant
David Kruh Participant
Sean Rand Participant
Steven Weinstein Participant
Chris Costello Participant
Mimi Reed Participant
Beverly Anderson Traube Participant
Dixie Evans Participant
Sarah Jacobs Participant
Blaze Starr Participant
Kitty West Participant
Sherry Britton Participant
Betty Rowland Participant
Darty Minsky Actor
Jacquie Barnbrook Narrator
Ron Bottita Narrator
Cate Cohen Narrator
Matthew Henerson Narrator
Amber Gainey-Meade Narrator

Technical Credits
Leslie Zemeckis Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Donnalee Austen Associate Producer
Evan Finn Editor
Sheri Hellard Cinematographer,Producer
Jackie Levine Producer
Phil Marshall Score Composer
Robert Zemeckis Executive Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Behind the Burly Q
1. The Trailblazers [12:36]
2. Burlesque Beginnings [6:33]
3. The Tit Singer [7:31]
4. Occupational Hazards [10:27]
5. The Comedians [10:29]
6. Too Many Husbands [8:32]
7. Troubles at Home [8:40]
8. Big Money [11:12]
9. Cat Fights [11:21]
10. The Final Curtain [8:01]
11. End Credits [2:17]

Customer Reviews